We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Cherry Cottage & garden Blagdon House Country Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Cherry Cottage & garden
Blagdon House Country Cottages
10 seat table with open countryside views
10.5m heated pool with large, sunny terrace
We are South Devon Silver award winners.
Open-plan ground floor with patio doors to terrace.
Leather sofa's, woodburner...
...& surround sound media system.
Level-access wet room
Level-access double bedroom 5.  Can also be made up as a twin room.
Double bedroom 1 with south-facing views
Twin bedroom 2
Shower room & toilet for bedrooms 1 & 2.
Double bedroom 3 with south-facing views.
Twin bedroom 4. Vaulted ceiling & exposed beams.
Shower room & toilet for bedrooms 3 & 4.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
np004t983...
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Excellent accommodation, very clean and well presented. The owners couldn’t do enough for us. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Happy to oblige.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkins20...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, off the beaten track and high quality accommodation”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in September 2017

The location is off the beaten track and the roads (tracks) to the property will not for everyone. However, it is an oasis when you get there.
If you want to go out at night these tracks have no lighting, our taxi home was exciting! Even the taxi driver had never heard of the place, so take the postcode with you!
Although the roads are claustrophobic the accommodation is the opposite. They provide a welcome pack, milk, bread and scrumptious cakes. It is very clean and to a high standard. I was the only one that went swimming so had it to myself.
Our cottage had three parking spaces which was a little difficult as there were 5 couples. If the complex was full it would have been a problem.
My comments are not designed as criticisms, merely informative. We had a great time and found the hosts really nice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review & enjoyed your stay. Cherry Cottage has 3 parking spaces. We have plenty of extra parking space on-site for groups with more than 3 cars. The comment about the lanes does highlight the advice we give to not follow sat nav on first arrival. There is the narrow (satnav) route & the much easier route to follow from our pre-arrival directions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Thank you for your kind review Hannah. We're glad your New Year get-together was a success & hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review & glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the sauna, washing machine & dryer; we aim the keep the charges modest. We are not looking to profit form this, just keep the usage in check. The facilities are shared with four other holiday cottages & this system of charging helps with managing fair use & keeping facilities available to all. It also helps with not wasting resources by keeping water & energy consumption under control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dihiryn
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely family holiday base”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cherry Cottage provided a wonderful base for a family of family of 4 adults, a baby and a toddler. The welcome was warm and the facilities in the house were top notch. There's plenty to do in the local area - the children enjoyed crabbing at Stoke Gabriel, the Lido at Brixham and exploring Torquay and the local area. We were equally happy to spend time at the cottage, splashing in the pool, or making pop corn and hot dogs for a movie night using the projector at the cottage.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
You DIDN'T use the projector to make the popcorn & hot dogs, did you? Thank you for your review & glad you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidjJ23...
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully modernised large house with plenty of space in the country just outside Paignton”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cheery Cottage is a large five bedroom, three bathroom house located outside Paignton in Devon. It is suitable for up to 10 and is both suitable for groups, families and as one bedroom and a wet room are on the ground floor it is suitable for wheelchair access or those unable to climb stairs. Although only a short distance from Paignton it is very quiet and secluded though access by car is down a very narrow steep lane so be prepared to get the car brushed on both sides by the hedgerows. There is parking for up to three cars for the cottage.
The location is great for exploring this part of Devon, we enjoyed particularly Compton Castle, the steam train from Paignton to Kingswear, Saltram House, Woodlands leisure park, Castle Drogo and Paignton Zoo.
The lounge, kitchen and dining area is all open plan and there is ample space. The TV, amplifier, DVD, surround sound and overhead projector were excellent, it is unusual to get such good facilities in a holiday home.
The kitchen was well equipped with a large fridge / freezer and dishwasher.
On arrival we Piers and Helen had provided scones, strawberries and clotted cream for us which was lovely.
The enclosed front garden was perfect for football with our grandson and he also enjoyed the shared outdoor pool.
We highly recommend this house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review. Yes, we are tucked away about 200m down a country lane. The steep approach is best avoided & we try to ensure guests are aware of the easier approach. We always send out detailed arrival notes highlighting this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
2 reviews
“Betteridge family holiday.”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having stayed at one of the smaller cottages in May 2016 which impressed us we knew that the quality of the accommodation would be superb when we booked the larger house.
It worked very well for us as a large family group (8 adults, & 2 children).
One couple and child in a full sized cot used the large double room on the ground floor, whilst the upstairs rooms are split into two wings with a double, a twin, shower room & toilet for each wing.
Two of the couples were in the left wing, whilst we had the double and our daughter used the twin in the right wing.
Very good links to Torquay, Paignton, Brixham etc, and the Zoo being only a 20 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing