We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
104
90
33
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
90
33
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station full scottish breakfast friendly atmosphere visiting dunbar steak pie room was large four poster bed breakfast was delicious powerful shower lovely hotel would stay again attending a wedding function room steak night bit dated cosy bar sea view
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 247 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Friendly, accommodating staff who clearly work very hard to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. However, the hotel is in desperate need of updating. First impressions are that it is dirty but it’s not really, it just gives that impression because everything is old, dated and in need of repair/replacement. The carpet on the main staircase is in a particularly bad state. The food was basic but ok, the breakfast could have been hotter. I don’t believe the quality the hotel offers reflects the rates charged.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Brilliant hotel. The staff were friendly, very helpful and the hotel had a light and friendly atmosphere. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and well cooked.The bikes and trailer were safely stored for us. I can highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room tip: we had room 18 which was comfortable and clean
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lunn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Me and partner stayed over in beautifull dunbar for a night while out we called into the royal mackintosh for food was a very old style hotel with not much to see we were seated in the resturaunt and ordered food the waitress was very friendly and helpfull we ordered food and when it came was amazing it was quite out of place with the surroundings from starters to deserts it was like eating at a top class reasturant it was presented and tasted out of this world it left me and partner talking about it for the rest of the day anyone visiting dunbar should def go and treat themselves really is amazing

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank yutworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

The hotel is old and worn out, it absolutely needs new carpeting and better cleaning (we found food remains in the bedside table's drawer). We enjoyed cooked breakfast but we think room rate is too high.
Let's go there if gbp 99 per night incl breakfast for ensuite double room is ok for you - but this rate for a run down/tired hotel is overpriced according to us.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ReviewsItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

I travel all over the country and usually stay on the unambiguous travelodge or premier inn... this hotel is sooo much better than them.
The staff are amazing, with the young chap showing us where we could park as their car park was full; not just explaining, but showing us in the pouring rain....
He then showed us personally to our rooms, something that you don't get anymore no even asked us if we wanted our cases carried... amazing!
Although the rooms could do with a spruce they were full of character, somewhat in keeping with the rest of Dunbar, the floorboards squeak, the bed squeaks, (but was amazingly comfy), and the best bit... the shower! Oh my god... THE best shower in the world!
The in,y complaint, if it is one really is that the light bulbs need to be of a higher wattage...
Myself and my colleague stayed 2 nights and we both said that on our next trip, this is the place to stay!

Room tip: Try the rubarb gin!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryH1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews