We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
104
90
33
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
90
33
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station full scottish breakfast friendly atmosphere visiting dunbar steak pie room was large four poster bed breakfast was delicious powerful shower lovely hotel would stay again attending a wedding function room steak night bit dated cosy bar sea view
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 247 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Would I return? Yes, good food, really nice and real people. Of course I would return. Are the rooms perfect? No, but that’s not what the hotel is about. If the room is the be all and end all find a large chain hotel.
Thanks for a super couple of days. Relieved the stress of the day. Mind you re-padding of the chairs in the restaurant would be be beneficial.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RichardS9322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

The pictures of your room must have been taken some time ago, ours didn't resemble any of them, it was on the other hand mostly clean and functional, staff very helpful and friendly, food in restaurant was very good and service excellent.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Have been to steak night on many occasions at the Royal Mackintosh Hotel, unbelievable value with all the trimmings! Very friendly easygoing atmosphere.

Bar has a Great Verity of Single Malts, If you’re a whisky fan the Royal mackintosh is the only place in Dunbar for you!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank RossDavidBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

My friend stayed for 2 nights, second time from ENGLAND, she thoroughly enjoyed her stay, the staff were so friendly, especially KIRSTY and the young man who served our meal for the 2 nights has the makings of doing well in HOSPITALITY, far better than our server last year.The food was excellent< especially the battered haddock and steak pie.
All the staff were happy and friendly.
HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN SOON. MARY GIBB, DUNBAR.

Room tip: Room 14 NEWLY refurbished and comfortable>
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamishami007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

I spent a week at this hotel during my stay in Dunbar, and I found the room to be large and comfortable. The staff were helpful, and it boasts three bars, though only one is really suitable for oldsters like myself. They also claim to have the best selections of single malts in Dunbar, and I, for one, would not dispute it. If you stay here, be sure to check out their dinner specials, as I did pretty well with them. Finally, it is only one block from the train station, making it a quick getaway back Edinburgh Waverly when your trip is done.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davegering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews