We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located family run hotel”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Centrally located family run hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights Thurs to Sun on bed breakfast and evening meal basis. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful covering all tastes. Evening meals you selected in the morning consisting of starters and main course (always meat, vegetarian, fish and salad options available) desserts were chosen at the table and there was always cheese and biscuits/coffee and tea afterwards. Rooms and communal areas were very clean and tidy.
Hotel is ideally situated within walking distance from the town and the beach.
Bill and Jackiey are a very friendly couple who couldn't have been more welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Visited for a three night break, fri to sun on a half board basis. For breakfasts you have a good selection including, fruit juices, cereal, main & toast, with tea or coffee. Evening meals (five course) were selected from a short menu, food is home cooking style. Rooms and general areas were clean and tidy. Bill and Jackie made you feel welcome. Location is good, near to the beach, whilst close enough to the town. Overall an excellent experience, good food and an enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a great holiday and we were very pleased that we stayed here, so much so we are planning to return again in the near future and have already recommended to my parents.

The beds were comfortable, and the room large enough even with our son in his cot. It was really nice to stay somewhere that people cared and took the time to speak with you, all remembered my son's name and made the 3 of us feel very welcome throughout our stay. Bill and Jackie our great hosts.

The breakfast was really good and we thought it was a really good idea to pick what we wanted before retiring for the evening.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to the sea front and lift. The lift was not in operation in march but that was good as it gave us a chance to walk off the breakfast.
Hope to return soon, thanks Stuart, Louise and Theo

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A wonderfull hotel, all the staff are extremely polite and nothing is to much trouble.
Bill and Jackie made us very welcome, the instant we arrived we were offered tea or coffee . Food and sevice is excellent and plentifull [I put on 6 pounds ].
The rooms and bedrooms are clean,bright and airey.
The hotel location is convenient with just a few minutes walk to the prominade or shanklin.
Thank you Bill and Jackie for a lovely 4 days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Bob's/U3A walking group.
We would like to thank Bill & Jackie & Staff for really looking after us,when we stayed in October,
The bed was really comfortable, every where was really clean
The food was really good, and plentiful
Bob, Ian, Tom & I, particularly liked Bill's dining room wallpaper !! (Ask Bill)?
All in all I hope we all go again to Bill & Jackie's, next year
A real treat, thank you.
Martin p.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linedancer111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A lovely hotel, close to the seafront, the food was home made and really tasty. The hosts Bill & Jackie are very accommodatin and made our family feel really welcome. The common areas and Rooms are nicely decorated and make you feel at home. We had a nice drink in the well stocked bar, kept company by Bill, there is even a small library for the readers! We came to Shanklin for a family break, and found a place that we will visit again and again, we have already booked our next week away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

It is not surprising that many guests return year on year to The Hambledon, which offers a warm friendly and cosy atmosphere throughout. Impeccably clean and thoroughly comfortable, this small hotel offers a massive service that many of the large hotels would be happy to achieve. Excellent home made food with a very generous choice of menu and very generous helpings. In Bill and Jackie you have the perfect hosts, always happy and always willing to assist in any way.

Norm & Yvonne
Northamptonshire

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 km away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
0.2 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
4.7 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.6 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Property: Hambledon Hotel
Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing