We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the Brunswick Hotel.”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Choose the Brunswick Hotel.”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Brunswick hotel for ten nights, as we got married in the Isle of Wight, we needed a special hotel to stay in. We have a one year old daughter, so we stayed in one of the family rooms (Room 39) which was a very good size for the three of us, she had her own room and even had her own little play area! We had a separate shared lounge, which was down one flight of stairs, good size with balcony, lovely views overlooking the garden/sea. We found everyone to be very friendly, especially the new waiter Martin (David Beckham look alike!) nothing was too much trouble and he always brought a smile to the table! The food was very good, 4 courses plus coffee every night and all to a very good standard. We even had a free bottle of champagne on our wedding night! The pool was a good size, lovely, clean and warm and stayed open until 10pm every night. The location of hotel was fantastic for walks out along Shanklin seafront or into the unique little village of Shanklin. We would definitely recommend the Brunswick, there is nothing not to like and we will be looking forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 39 very good if you have a baby, as lots of space for crawling etc. Fantastic views for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whirlybozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    59
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
80
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed two nights, do not know what type of hotel other people stay at, but thought that what we paid it was great value for money. All the staff on duty were polite and attentive, food for the price we paid was very good. I personally would not pay 3 star prices and expected a 5 star hotel. We are returning next year for another fishing trip and will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Just had 2 nights at the Brunswick in october 2011 and very satisfied with the hotel. I found the staff very helpful and extremely pleasant and after reading some of the other less then complimentary reviews especially about the staff, I can only conclude that those reviews related to different people as the ones I met were certainly up to the mark . The food was perfectly OK and the service timely and pleasant. I have stayed at other hotels in the area and would recommend a visit to the Brunswick - don`t be put off by the negative comments - give it a go it is value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just come back from a lovely 2 night stay at the Brunswick. When we searched on trip advisor we found some negative comments and must stress that these are unfounded in our opinion. To start with, great value. We got a great deal for a family of 4 having two rooms. The rooms were clean and had everything we could need. We made use of the brilliant indoor pool, and had 2 tasty evening meals as part of the deal. A warm welcome from all helpful happy staff will ensure that when we return to the Isle of Wight, we will be staying at the Brunswick.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed at the Brunswick in October with 2 other couples. Allocated the suite which was great.
Dinner on the first night was part of the deal but what a dinner!!! Starter was not as on the menu but was OK, main course was very poor - looked awful & was cold - when asked the chef said he couldn`t help! Management were unavailable as they were having their dinner!! Spoke to owner later & she was very surprised by me complaint & did nothing about it. breakfast was OK. Poor waiters had no supervision & the lad serving us was a trainee & I felt sorry for him as he tried hard. Hotel was clean & in a good positon but would not rush back.

Room Tip: The suite was very good for couples - 3 separate bedrooms & a living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthMT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at The Brunswick Hotel in August 2011 for 3 nights. We are a family of 5, and it is normally difficult - and expensive- to find a hotel that can cater for us without splitting us up into 2 rooms, or expecting us to have the children in the same room as us. The Brunswick has a fantastic Family Suite on the top floor which is completely self-contained. It has 2 separate bedrooms and a bathroom and is incredibly spacious, and very well-kept. We chose the B&B option as we wanted to explore the various restaurants (The Wight Mouse is highly recommended). The breakfast was nice enough, with a variey of yoghurts and cereals on offer, and a cooked breakfast which was okay. Out of the 3 mornings that we ate there, two were good service-wise and one was dreadful: we waited for nearly 20 minutes to have our order taken, whilst others that came in after us were served pretty quickly, and having pointed this out 3 times, we were finally served! The barman in the evening was particularly grumpy, and definitely needs to be spoken to by the owner: when asked if we could have a few extra ice cubes he was very unfriendly - a shame, because the rest of the staff were lovely in comparison. Yes, the decor is slightly out-dated, but is a clean, friendly hotel. The pool is very nicely kept and our children (aged 8, 6 and 4) loved it, and we liked the fact that they use an alternative to harsh chlorine in there. I would definitely stay here again, it is in a nice, quiet location and ideal to use as a base to explore the island.

Room Tip: Family Suite on top floor is perfect for a larger family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Overall our stay was ok. The welcome and checking in was great. Location of the hotel is excellent for all, couldn't be better. The decor of the hotel is a little out dated but is maintained and keep clean enough.
The receptionists were very friendly except one, Julie, who seemed very false. one evening all she did was hang around the bar area 'gossiping' about staff and other quests which we were very surprised by to say the least.

There is no entertainment in the evenings but we weren't after that so that was ok. The barman was very friendly/helpful without being too nosey as bar persons sometimes can be. One night, another person worked the bar who seemed to get a bit behind which caused a considerable wait in service but I guess she was only part time.

The evening meals were overall ok to good. Some nights it was really nice others the plates might be cold, the food not so good or the service could be quite lapse (when we entered the dining room on are first night, we had to wait 4/5 minutes to be seated). the waiting staff were friendly enough, although one of them was quite rude when we asked for a meal to be sent back.

back to the food, sometimes, the dishes served seem to vary from the advertised meal on the menu but no big issue.

The room we stayed in was clean and tidy just a little outdated like the rest of the hotel. the bathroom was excellent.

The morning breakfast was just your basic breakfast, some mornings the cooked breakfast was a bit lacking as if you ordered bacon and egg, you would get just one rasher of bacon and one egg. But, there was a breakfast table so you could fill up on cereal or yoghurt etc.

In summary, the hotel is very nice but it could do with being revived. I think I have been very fair in my review as I have seen that some other reviews contrast mine in a number of ways, and some I think they must have got the wrong hotel. I would consider returning for another stay but some changes made in the right places would make it much more appealing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brubaker_karabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
458 reviews
0.4 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.1 km away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.6 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing