We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Somewhere for that special occasion.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hambrough Restaurant

The Hambrough Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 55 Restaurants in Ventnor
Price range: US$39 - US$137
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough offers award winning dining at the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. Head Chef Darren Beevers is serving locally inspired dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
IOW england
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Somewhere for that special occasion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Went with friends for a Birthday lunch. Enjoyed drinks in the bar before the meal. All staff very pleasant and informative. Three course lunch £32. The food is top standard, as one would expect from this young chef,Robert Thompson, who has made a name for him self on the Isle of Wight. We all found drinks expensive(,London prices) a beer before the meal £6.00, and the cheapest wine £28 a bottle (only 2-3 at this price) going up steeply! I checked online and found the mark up from 100% plus to 200% plus, is this the norm for all restaurants?
A shame as we would have ordered more if not so expensive.
Tables of more than six which we were, an extra 12.5% service.
This is a general complaint with all top restaurants that charge 12.5% service, you pay this on whatever wine you choose, so on a bottle of £50 wine you pay £6.25 service on top. It takes the same service to open this as a less expensive one.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickleby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    49
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and rooms to match!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our second stay at The Hambrough - and we weren't disappointed. The food was incredible - we went for the seven course tasting menu and loved every mouthful. Any meal that ranges from eel to venison to snail to red mullet, onto winner of England's best cheese (Isle of Wight Blue) and ending with playful desserts is a winner with us. The matching wine was also stunning.

Staff are friendly and enthusiastic about what they do - great food, local produce in a relaxed setting (Michelin restaurants do not always encourage fun meals but The Hambrough feels both special and relaxed).

The room was excellent - spacious, great sea and bay views, espresso machine, beautiful bathroom and fluffy bath robes!

All in all a great place - I've already recommended it to others!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DulwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely but a few quibbles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The staff were very friendly. We had the valentines taster menu on the15th which was lovely but the carrot mousse was over salted as was the spinach. The artichokes were far too bitter and dry and the Delice of Manjari chocolate-the flavours didnt balance well at all, i couldnt eat it, the combination was a fail rather than a wow! The chocolate too bitter against the far too sour passion fruit. All the other dishes were very flavoursome, the scallops were extremely juicy and tasted of the sea, which is what you look for in quality seafood, these were closely followed by the oysters which were also very fresh and the lemon and Thyme flavour came through nicely. The beef dish we feel should be slightly smaller in a taster menu of such but the flavours were good. A nice meal and i would come again but the dishes need some fine tuning if a michelin star is to be kept!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Fine food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fine food let down by fussy and pretentious service. What was actually available to eat and drink did not entirely match the menu. In fairness, and to his credit, the chef/owner has responded to these points.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Classy and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We enjoyed the Valentines Tasting menu with the associated wine flight. Our favourite courses were the delicious Carpaccio of venison with foie gras mouse, the scrumptious Chocolate delice and strangely the carrot appetiser. Most courses were very good, but the baked oysters weren't as exciting as I'd hoped. The wines went very well with each course and it was pleasing to get a decent amount in the glass.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hambrough Restaurant also viewed

 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Hambrough Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing