We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in all respects”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Like other trip advisor users, we have stayed at many small hotels but none can match Hillside for satisfaction. From the welcome on arrival throughout our 4 night stay we received outstanding care, kindness and determination to please and we must give special praise to Gerard for his delicious cooking. The renovation of the property has resulted in a delightful combination of the old with the fresh brightness of the Scandinavian decor. Thank you to Gert and his delightful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Hillside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our second visit and as with the first time it was a very pleasurable trip. The rooms and food were as usual very good. Gert was as ever attentive and charming.
We also ate at the new Hillside Bistro in Ventnor. The food and service was excellent. So if you would rather not eat at the hotel this is a very good alternative

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Nothing too much trouble - Gert is a consummate host who values all his customers. The perfect place to stay - even looked out for my pregnant wife!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishGastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed 5-9 April and had a wonderful experiance. Comfortable beds, light and airy rooms, spotlessly tidy, minimalist styling, fantastic artwork, attentive staff, excellent food and an outstanding host (Gert). Choose this hotel if you are a discerning traveller. It's not cheap and cheerful but excellent value for money. The restaurant is first class (set meal at 7 with a three course choice from three options - vegetarian, meat or fish). The food is simply cooked and excellent and locally-sourced where possible and practical. The bread is home-baked - the rye bread is particularly fine. The wine list is outstanding with several great bargains if you know where to look - but all are very reasonably piced anyway. Breakfast extensive with wide choice and - if you like the full English - perfectly presented and grease-free. Freshly-brewed flavoursome (Salvadoran) coffee reliably-sourced. A great way to start the day. We will certainly return soon if we can book a room. This place is popular and rightly so. A true gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Hillside. We echo all the positive comments of earlier reviewers. Hillside is a model of good hospitality, comfort, and fine eating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a boutique hotel furnished in a modern style, with the white walls adorned by the owners colourful collection of modern art. This fine Georgian house has been updated to give those staying a contemporary experience, however the building's charm has been maintained.
We have just returned from a 3 day end of March stay taking dinner each evening at the hotel.The wine list gives a good choice being fairly priced and very expertly chosen by your host, who is more than happy to help you make a selection. Unusually you choose your menu well ahead (it can be done by going on their website before your stay), but you will be rewarded with freshly prepared good quality meals. The service is very attentive and someone is always close at hand watching out for your every need. This high level of service is offered in a very friendly manner, so just relax & enjoy being made to feel special. Our bedroom was very comfortable having a king size bed, two chairs and a well appointed shower room. Maybe the only slight niggle was a rather limp shower head bracket and prehaps the water flow was a little reduced the more the water temperature was increased, but this was not something that harmed our stay in the slightest. In essence if we were to stay on the Isle again we would book the Hillside without a second thought, it is a delightful hotel run by delightful people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We visited the Hillside to celebrate my father-in-law's 80th birthday, staying 2 nights and eating in on both nights.
The stay was wonderful. We were looked after with feeling. The atmosphere was open, attentive and friendly but not intrusive. We were all very comfortable in all respects.
Particular highlights for me were the birthday cake, the proprietor's obvious concern that my in-laws were settled in and catered for right from our arrival, the personal nature of the service, the breakfasts, the comfortable beds and sunny bedrooms and the relaxed but efficient rhythm of the place.
Well done Gert!
We will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: We had an excellent family set up: in-laws in an easily accessible room on the ground-floor, the re...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
874 reviews
0.5 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
3.5 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
14.0 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
7.5 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: $250 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing