We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, subdued and refined”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Elegant, subdued and refined”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Definitely a first class establishment with unobtrusive service by the front of house managers, Debbie and Kay. The bedroom (No.4) was comfortable and spacious with extensive views over the English Channel.
The Hotel is located on five acres with a National Park at the back. The location ensures a noise free and peaceful environment.
We had dinner at the Hillside Hotel on two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the set three course menu. Quantity and quality was of the highest order. We also had dinner one night at the proprietor's newly opened Bistro in Ventnor. The entree, main and dessert were impeccably cooked and the presentation was of the highest order.
Parking is available on-site with free wi-fi throughout the building.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JagBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    38
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
294
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We booked the Hillside based on other reviews for a special birthday for my wife.
From the moment I booked Gert fielded all my questions on e-mail very quickly and from that point on the service was simply first class. Nothing is too much trouble for Gert or his team. We were even offered a lift from the Bistro in town, the new sister restaurant (excellent too), but were so full we though the walk would do us good. This is the type of place that I would have no hesitation in recommending to even my most discerning friends and I believe it's somewhere that we'll keep going back to. We ate in the restaurant two out of our three nights and the food was excellent. Ok, you may be a little limited by the set menu, but actually that meant that we ended up trying one or two things that we ordinarily wouldn't and were very pleasantly surprised. Expectations certainly fulfilled, if not exceeded.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Well, its not often you find a place like this. A wonderful building and people who have a passion for trying to make us punters happy. I could attempt to pick holes in it but that would be churlish when someone like Kurt, who runs this place, is putting so much thought and care in to balancing quality,comfort, value and individuality. The fact he is is Scandanavian probably helps. Well done to him and his team. Hope he has the energy to keep it going. If you are reading this with a view to going to Isle of Wight go nowhere else and make sure you book dinner. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but if you can't get one, go anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury , UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We enjoyed our previous stays so much (and the cycling opportunities on the IOW) that we booked again. Gert and the team really know the meaning of the word hospitality and it is testiment to them that we again found our expecations being exceeded......we only stayed two nights but felt like we had been away for a week. Spotlessly clean, one of the best breakfasts I can remember (sufficient to fuel a lap of the island on our bikes without much of stop!!) and first class attentive service.

We dined at hillside both evenings and we were treated to great food. When we go again we will try Gerts new (ish) restaurant in the town which I believe is called Bistro, just for a change.

A couple of the guests we spoke to during our stay were grumbling about rigid check in / check out times and the absense of flexibility on the dining time which is set at 7.00 oclock. I think this would be valid criticism of a larger hotel but I would class hillside as a boutique B & B / small hotel were this kind of practice , in our experience, is common.

Already looking forward to our next trip.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

For the sunniest part of the Isle of Wight we got mainly wet, but did get the chance to enjoy the superb garden for coffee one afternoon, the conservatory and garden are a great extension when the weather permits.
Trying to describe the hotel is a challenge, but a good one! It is individual, immaculate and friendly. Booking the restaurant is worth it, everything possible is local and the wine list is reasonable. If you like arts, are something of a foodie and appreciate quality, this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I went to this guest House with my sisters for my birthday.The rooms were spotless,well done cleaning team.
The views were lovely,a great location for visiting.The only thing we thought was strange,we had to ring on the front door bell to enter the house,and that was only if no one was behind the curtains watching us ,to open the door before we rang the bell.
The beds were really comfortable,which makes a lovely change from a lot of hotels and guest houses.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fOOdtrip65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Boy was it wet but Hiiside was superb:- a warm welcome, cosy rooms, interesting wine list and fab food all offset the miserable weather.
Small bits were 7.00pm eating time a little too early I feel and the individual single duvets are an art form I didnt enjoy
Overall a first class stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.5 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.5 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
14.0 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing