We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream home”

Review of Bermuda House

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Bermuda House from the Road Front Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Bermuda House from the Road
Front Living Room
Back Living Room
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
1st floor front double bedroom
Ist floor rear bedroom
2nd floor front double en-suite bedroom
2nd floor twin bedroom
2nd Floor front single bedroom
Bermuda House
Bermuda House Garden
Bermuda House was Edward Elgar's honeymoon destination
Ventnor Cascade just below Bermuda House
Between Bermuda House and the beach
Ventnor Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrsbeetle...
Suffolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dream home”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the Isle of Wight, we stayed at Bermuda house for the week. We all felt it was a house we would love to own, we really felt at home. The original Victorian ceiling roses and plasterwork were amazing. The stairs will keep you fit being over 4 floors but that just added to the experience. The kitchen has everything you could want. The views from the front windows over the bay were spectacular, particularly on the day we left as the wind hand picked up and the waves were crashing in. The Island itself is was better than we could have hoped, so much beautiful landscape, so much to do, beautiful beaches and bays. It reminded us a little of Mediterranean France whilst being distinctively British. Lastly a big thank you to John for being so helpful and so accommodating. Oh yes and mattresses were so comfortable and bedding of good quality, this makes such a change!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and comfort of the house
Liked least: The travel cot and high chair need replacing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo8888
kent, uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great location”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was or second visit to this beautiful house. Great for a family get away. The house is great for socialising with plenty of room. Very well equipped with plenty of everything! We loved sitting looking out of the sea and were only a few minutes walk to our favourite pub the 'spyglass inn'. Ventnor has plenty for families and we will definitely be back!! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal house for what we was after, comfy, well equipped and great location”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The booking process was very easy and the owner couldn't of been more helpful.
We found the property to be ideal for our needs, there were 6 adults and 3 children. It had a warm lived in feel to it. It was very well equipped with the kitchen having plenty of plates, bowls, glasses etc as well as some plastic plates and cups! The views from the lounge and upstairs bedroom were stunning!
The location was excellent with a park round the corner and a 5 minute walk into the town and beach area.
I think the best thing was the addition of the ensuite bathroom. We definitely benefitted from this place being a 3 bathroom place.
The worst thing was probably the tumble dryer, it was awkward to use since the door kept popping open so it took a lot of trips to the basement to get the clothes dry.....yep if that is all I have to moan about I think I had a very good holiday too!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
I'm glad you had a good stay but sorry about the tumble dryer - When I inspected the house after Easter I found an unreported problem with the door, so I replaced the Washer/Dryer with a new Bosch one on 28th April. I am not aware of problems since then, so I think you must have been there in April(not unusually for a house sleeping 10, your name is not on the booking so I can't verify the date). I do endeavour to put faults right as soon as they are reported to me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobnMel
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Book now this place is going to get very popular!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place is amazing, its enormous and I can't believe we got it for the price!
We booked it for a family wedding as there was plenty of bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. With the cost spread between 5 of us it was much cheaper than a hotel. The owner John was brilliant and went out of his way to help, even giving us a preview tour of the house as he happened to be in residence at the time. It is decorated in a clean contemporary (Ikea) styleand with 2 living rooms and a kitchen diner that takes the whole of the ground floor there is plenty of space to spread out. The house is at the top of the cliff overlooking the beach and on the corner of the high street into town, no car needed once you are there if all you want to do is chill. Mind you just sitting in the bedroom window looking at the view was enough for me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price and position
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mithian, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, space and location
Liked least: Minor point - having to find something! Water flow on showers was weak but understand that large groups showering together can affect it!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
iow england
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing