We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome.......... Magnolia Tree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Welcome..........
Magnolia Tree
Sitting Room
Sitting Room Log Burner Fireplace in Portland Stone
Comfy...........
Log Burner
Bathroom
Ground floor bath and shower room
Bathroom seagulls
Kitchen
kitchen
Kitchen
Garden Double Bedroom
Garden Bedroom
Garden Double Bedroom
Garden with sea views
Sea views of the English channel from the property
Middle Twin Bedroom
Sea view from the middle bedroom
Sea view from the bedroom
Nearby Steep Hill Cove Beach
Ventnor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
butt80
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely House”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time at Breakers Sound - the house is lovely with a beautiful garden. It is also really close to the Coastal Walk which is fantastic - I plan to return and do the full walk one day.
This was my first visit to the Isle of Wight and I can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Well presented cottage in a good location”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

On arrival we were not disappointed the thatched cottage was lovely and the garden was beautiful with views of the sea. Inside was well presented with three good sized bedrooms two bathrooms good sized kitchen that was well equipped and two dinning rooms and a good sized lounge.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r_smith64...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A cottage with a wow factor”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thought the cottage was beautiful even when viewed from the front gate when we arrived at the start of our holiday.

Passing through the beautiful garden to the front door of the cottage made one realise that this was not just another holiday let.

Just when you thought it couldn't look any better, entering the cottage provided a most wonderful wow factor.

The whole of the interior is just perfect and the modern facilities mix well with the features of the original cottage

The cottage Wifi is excellent and makes up for the dreadful mobile signal which seems to be the norm in the Ventnor area.

What more can I say - My wife, daughter and golden retriever enjoyed every minute of our stay at Breakers Sound

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: The hill up from Ventnor town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Wow, praise indeed, many thanks Richard and thank you for taking the time to write a report.
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Breakers Sound.
Come again soon !
Regards
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMH47
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday let ever”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had seen Breakers Sound on previous visit to IOW and thought location would be excellent. Too true, having arrived we were reluctant to leave even for the magnificent walks and local interest. The cottage really is a home from home, everything is thought of....and the garden puts the Botanic Gardens to shame...lovingly tended and just perfect for sitting in the sun and looking out across the Channel from any of the many sitting/patio areas.
Will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAI_10
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best property we have stayed in!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband, sister in law, her husband and I stayed at this lovely cottage in February 2014. I had spent many hours online to try and find the 'right one' for a short break, and we weren't disappointed. It was everything one could hope for. It was spotless, very well equipped and the log burner was lovely. The weather was awful, (it was the high winds and torrential rain period) and the cottage was beautifully cosy and warm. We would definitely recommend a stay here. We can't wait to book again.
Andrew was a very friendly and helpful gentleman to communicate with. Thank you Andrew.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. We could also take our little dog.
Liked least: We arrived in the dark, and the gates with the name of the cottage were open, so the name of the property wasn't on view, and took us a while to find it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Breakers Sound. It is always so reassuring to receive glowing reports as so much time and effort is put into making the cottage a home from home for guests to enjoy. Look forward to welcoming you back again to Breakers Sound at some point on the future. Kind regards Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning peaceful location
Liked least: liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Difficult to find any faults
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing