We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Beautiful Holiday Cottage with a Stunning Sea...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CHILL ON THE TERRACE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
CHILL ON THE TERRACE
The Master Bedroom
BRAND NEW KITCHEN (2014)
BIG FAMILY BATHROOM
KITCHEN TO LIVING ROOM
VENTNOR SNACK
VENTNOR BOTANIC GARDENS
VENTNOR BEACH CASCADE APPROACH
THE OCEAN VIEW FROM OCEAN VIEW!
SUNRISE IN WINTER
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KatieD79
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Holiday Cottage with a Stunning Sea View”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A Beautiful holiday home with a stunning sea view. We had an amazing holiday in Ventnor with our 4 Children aged between 1 and almost 11 years old. The holiday cottage was perfect for our stay. Our 2 girl's loved the bunkbeds, our eldest enjoyed having a lovely double bed to himself and our bedroom was so spacious, we had the littlest one in a lovely travel cot in the room with us. Debby could not have been any more helpful, she made our booking and stay so comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, as was the rest of the house. We had everything we needed in the house for the baby, a travel cot, highchair and even a stair gate. There were plenty of books, games and DVD's to occupy the children, as well as 2 TV's. We went out everyday. Ventnor seafront is lovely, we dined on the seafront for 4 evening's out of 7 and enjoyed some Beach time, sunbathing, playing and paddling. There's a lovely paddling pool at the seafront for the little one's. The lovely holiday home also had lots of information leaflets on thing's to do on the Isle of Wight. We went out and about every single day, the Children loved everywhere they visited, Blankgang Chine, Robin Hill Country Park, the Amazon World Zoo park, Dino Isle, Shanklin, Sandown, The Needles, Bembridge and I loved visiting the Isle of Wight Pearl. The children all want to return next year. I would say that the Isle of Wight is an absolute 'Must Do' family holiday destination. Although it's still within the UK, the climate feels so Mediterranean, it's a lovely trip South, with a gentle Ferry crossing, all without the need for a passport. Sea View Cottage is the perfect 'home from home' holiday cottage, it's beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We had clean linen, all beds were made up ready, clean towels for all to use and a very spacious family bathroom, with a separate bath and shower, as well as a downstairs toilet and wash basin.
Debby also booked our ferry crossing at a discounted rate, we suddenly realised that we needed to amend our ticket last minute, due to the height of our vehicle but this was also no trouble for Debby, she soon sorted us out and at no extra cost either. We had no trouble parking in the evening, there was always a space up the road but not too far to walk at all. We chose to drive down to the seafront, as this was easier for us with 4 children, a pushchair and the bags we needed to take down to the beach. Again parking no trouble and free after 6pm at the seafront. It's quite a Steep Hill down from or up to the house but it is a manageable walk for those fit and abled. The steep hill is worth it for the view at the top though, so no complaints from us at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, thank you Debby and we will return to the Beautiful Isle of Wight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Wow Katie - a review worthy of framing... but I'm not sure I have a large enough frame : ) Thank you also for leaving your comments in the visitors book - it helps future guests so much to get recommendations from folk who have already been there, done it and are wearing the T shirt. Thank you so much & see you all next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Myself, my husband, two daughters and our dog stayed at Ocean View for two weeks over Easter and then joined by our friends for the second week.

Communications prior to arrival was excellent with Debby responding quickly to queries, also whilst we were there. A great help having Debby sort out our ferry details too as it saved us alot of money. Documentation received prior to travelling regarding the house, directions and how to unload luggage on arrival was helpful.

The house was very clean, and had everything I needed for a two week stay and the beds were so comfy (in fact the best we have had). Views lovely which was one of the reasons we booked Ocean View. Very close to restaurants (although be prepared for hills and steps) we did not mind this. Although there is no separate parking we always found a space and infact started parking down from the house just off of zig zag road instead of behind as it meant we could see the cars from the house. The washing machine and dryer were great as it meant we never ran out of clothes and even managed to do my washing before coming home. We made good use of the DVD's and was great we could watch them in bed too as both tv,s had DVD players and my husband read a couple of books that were provided.

As we were there for two weeks we did find the chairs to be a little small and uncomfortable especially when you have two couples (one of the two sofas being a small two seater) so didn't feel we could really get cosy in them. On arrival Debby did appologise for the lack of attention in the garden due to the weather which was apparent as the bushes were overgrown and the fence needed some attention, I was a little apprehensive as we have a large dog and fencing is a must in order to prevent him from jumping over (which he didnt) hense we didn't spend much time sat outside. Someone was there looking at sorting this for future guests.

I would recommend anyone to stay at Ocean View if they were visiting the Island. Thankyou for a lovely holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2018
Many thanks for leaving such a detailed review Danni - it helps prospective guests get a real insight into the place. Apologies again for the fence. I shall be meeting with the 6th (!) contractor on Tues in an attempt to get it renewed. That's the trouble with the Isle of Wight sometimes - people are just too laid back : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPKS2010
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning property & views are amazing”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

On arriving for our Christmas stay the house was so cosy & Debby has even added some lovely decorations & a bowl of chocolates for our festive stay
The house is beautiful & so tastefully decorated, the beds are really comfortable & everywhere is spotlessly clean.
The views from the house are amazing, all well equipped in the kitchen & the house is so comfortable!
Debby made the booking so easy & was on hand for any questions
Would definitely visit again, thank you for making it a truly special location for our Christmas 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for the review of Ocean View Deanna. It's so lovely when guests appreciate the little touches. I always try to present the place as I would like to find it if I were a guest. Come down in the summer next time and see the other face of Ventnor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant E
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We absolutely loved this cottage. Stayed to celebrate our Grandsons first birthday. cot and high chair supplied. Very clean on arrival. The view is simply stunning of the ocean and town below. It's called Ocean View for a very good reason! There's nothing cheap or average about it .... furniture, fixtures and fittings, kitchen equipment, even the toaster all excellent brands and quality. Comfy beds. huge bathroom with a lovely bath (taps in the middle if you like to share), rain fall shower head, plenty of hot water ... Games, books, DVD's provided. Debby has thought of everything. (we did 10 years accommodation in France). Even before you arrive, the instructions and directions (loved the "pass the donkey sanctuary, everyone say ahhhh"). Access and parking not easy but possible, certainly not a big issue, logistics just need to be considered. Wi-fi was a little in and out but we had our own so wasn't a problem. Stay here!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Grant! I have just created the post of Wightaway Marketing Manager - it's yours if you'd like to apply ; ) Thank you so much for a great review, especially appreciated from someone who is a former accommodation provider themselves. Sprucing the place up during the winter so please come back & experience the new, improved Ocean View next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine6...
1 review
“Very comfortable,pet friendly cottage with glorious seaviews.”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great location,10 - 15 minutes stroll to seafront and seawalks,albeit up and down the hills(new this anyway!).....within range of the favoured Spyglass Inn, parking is up the hill which is fine,unloading the car on the double yellows was a little hairy though.The only downside for me and my family was the wifi kept dropping out,other than that we enjoyed our stay immensely,as did our dogs :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Very many thanks for taking the time to review Ocean View, much appreciated. Apologies about the WIFI - if you'd told me whilst you were there I'd have contacted Sky to find out what the problem was.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaBasi...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great accommodation & helpful landlady
Kept in touch & was responsive over any issues - even brought chocolates to apologise for noisy roadworks!
Wonderful views from lounge & main bedroom.
Small patio area out back to enjoy too.
House well equipped & was a Home from Home
Landlady even got our Red Funnel return travel too!
Even did my washing before I went home as well - result!

Only issue was not being able to get disabled spaces at front of house (down the road slightly) as both were taken daily. Managed to drop family at front door & I walked up steps/slope at back of property from zig zag road. Again to be fair landlady said she could help when the road was closed. We parked in front of someone's house & they were so friendly & were finewith us parking there for the week!

Went in school hols so was proportionate in cost & shared expense with grandparents.

Would love to go again & continue to explore Ventnor, & the Steam railway. Boys didn't want to ride the trains but there was loads to do at the steam railway - paid £5 entry including a birds of prey display which was fab.

We visited Ventnor park which was lovely & Steep Hill Cove was beautiful.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for the review Lorna - always great to get a detailed review to help future guests.
I'll definitely be in touch next time we've got a last minute deal during any school holidays - maybe we'll get to meet next time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_O...
London
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Ventnor”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Ocean View for 10 nights at the end of the summer holidays with our 2 children. The owner, Debby, was very helpful in sorting out the ferry for us and answering any questions I had - she was very responsive to emails which is always a plus, and our deposit was returned quickly following our stay.

The cottage itself was lovely, deceptively spacious once inside and beautifully decorated, as well as being equipped with everything we needed. The views out to sea from the lounge and master bedroom were gorgeous! I loved the huge bathroom with roll-top bath.

The cottage was located on a main road and stopping outside was a bit hairy so we tended to use the back door (as suggested) and park down the hill. We soon got used to the steep walk back up, which did us good after all the pub dinners, though it was quite dark at night on the last bit which wasn't lit!

Ventnor town itself is quaint with a lovely beach, though it was a shame to see quite a few closed down shops and businesses - sign of the times! We only did the walk down to the beach a couple of times as was quite a slog back up with young children - probably not recommended for those with children in buggies (or wheelchair users), though having said that the house itself was very well equipped for babies (we saw stair gates and a high chair tucked away in the storage cupboard). Our children loved the house and every time we went out they would ask when we could 'go back to the holiday'.

The only thing I would suggest is that a little manual with a bit more info would come in handy as there was just one laminated sheet. As an example, it took us an age to find the DVD player (which was in fact built very discreetly into the side of the TV), and there was a sign on the dryer asking for the filter to be cleaned after every other wash, however not having a machine with a removable filter ourselves, we had no idea how this was to be done! The rubbish/recycling process was also a little confusing. The oven and dishwasher were fairly straight forward but again, we just had to guess how to use them. A very minor point though which did not in any way affect our enjoyment of this beautiful house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The hill! But it was good for us!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Very many thanks for such a detailed review - they are always so helpful for future guests. I take your point about instructions but you'd be amazed how few guests bother even reading the basics that are left and lengthy stickers on everything can look a tad over-bearing if you're not careful. We have, however, 'upgraded' the instructions as far as the rubbish collections are concerned (they confuse locals, let alone visitors) & have labelled the bins.
Thanks again & please tell the children that they can 'come back to the holiday' anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing