We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best rental so far!”
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property. Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property.
Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
The Sunset seen from Red Gap Cottage.
Living Room.
Living Room.
Living room.
Writing Desk.
Dining area.
Kitchen.
Fully fitted modern kitchen with Neff oven & microwave.
Utility room with Bosch washer and dishwasher.
Bedroom number 1 with 2 single beds. Can be joined to be 1 Kingsize by previous request.
Bedroom number 2 with double bed.
Bedroom No 3 with 2 single beds
Modern bathroom with twin handbasins, bath with shower & seperate walk in shower.
3D plan of Red Gap Cottage.
Castle Rushen, Castletown Square.
View of Castletown Outer Harbour
Castletown Tin Bath Races.
Steam train at Castletown Station
Silverburn walk in Castletown.
Castletown Band playing at the Southern Show.
Red Gap Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daffodilg...
Bishop's Stortford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best rental so far!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We regularly travel and always prefer to self cater rather than hotels. We have family on the island visit regularly and having lived here know it well so we are not the usual holiday people. We found this gem via www and what a find. We are a couple with high standards and this cottage met every expectation. Kim goes to great lengths to provide a welcome and every small detail is met from a bottle of wine in the fridge to those extras in the bathroom so easily forgotten. We loved the personalised welcome too,! This cottage is so well equipped with so much thought and everything is of the highest standard. We will be booking again. Why would we go anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and facilities.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancastri...
Carnforth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Gap Cottage. It is very well located as a base for the south of the island and yet close enough to Douglas for easy travel to/from the ferry and the Shops and attractions of the capital. Kim, the owner, was helpful throughout the process and very welcoming. Certainly one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in and we'd not hesitate to book again when we return to the island. It is very well furnished and fitted out with virtually everything you'd want, it was exceptionally well maintained and clean, and the views/scenery are excellent.

The only thing we can think of to make it even better would be WIFI in the cottage, as there are few pubs/restaurants in Castletown offering wireless internet and the ones we found tended to be quite busy making it inconvenient trying to keep up with work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and scenery
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome & provisions made holiday start straight away
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
121BelleB
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Red Gap! Lived up to its name at sunset.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

On arrival we were met by Kim, the owner, and given a guided tour. The cottage was decorated and equipped to a very high standard and the double bed was really comfortable. My only adverse comment is that, in my opinion, the double bedroom should have been at the back of the property to take advantage of the view to the rear, leaving the two twin rooms at the front, but that really is just nitpicking. We will be booking another holiday at Red Gap very soon to ensure we get in for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Internet access would have been a bonus.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, I could live there.
Liked least: A baby seagull that lived across the road and kept shouting his mum
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing