We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for a concert”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Friendly staff and very comfortable clean room, overlooking the sea. Comfortable bed and excellent breakfast next morning to start the day. Various choices, continental, cereal, fruit, full English buffet (just ask if you want a fried egg) nothing was too much trouble. Look forward to visiting again. Good location, only 10 minute walk to town centre or to the theatre.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Rooms are basic, a little tired but clean.

View will be good once the promenade is complete.

Breakfast is excellent. Staff are friendly. The lady on reception is polite and helpful and I will likely use the Royal again on return visits to Whitley Bay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

my mother and I stayed here one night, the staff are friendly, lady on reception looked after my 83 year old mother while I parked the car
we were a little disappointed that we couldn't eat in the bar as there was a wedding on, but we found a lovely fish and chip restaurant nearby, and that we didn't have a sea view, but we were only there for one night.
breakfast was everything you could think of, cereal, toast, etc, really nice (bacon not dried out as usual in hotels)
really enjoyed our stay - thanks

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookie272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

*Couldn't get parked
*Online discount wasn't applied
*Woke up at 7 in the morning by room service shouting across the hallway to each other
*Bathroom was old and dirty
*Blinds were broken and wouldn't close
*BREAKFAST -don't do it, so so very poor
*Overpriced for the quality

I wouldn't return or recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We only required a stay for one night and booked a great deal via Booking.com. We discovered that to have a sea view we would have to pay another £20. Having done this we had a pleasant room but nothing special apart from a lime green sofa. The tv was ok on bbc1 but everything else was pixilated and the receptionist was aware. Everything was very clean but I don't think it was worth £75.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SSalsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it looked nice on the internet.
We booked a "suite" what we thought would be a larger room and a bit of a treat for ourselves.
The advert for the hotel states free parking. This is a complete joke!!! There are 6 parking spaces outside which covers the Italian restaurant next door, the bar area and approximate 15 hotel rooms. Everywhere else is permit parking or a car park that you have to pay to park. Mentioned the parking issue but no one seemed interested and said that you can park for free 2 or 3 streets away.
Booking in was easy and the gentleman that booked us in was pleasant.
We were shown to our room which we had booked a suite expecting a nice luxury spacious area. Boy was we wrong!!! We commented on the single bed that was pushed into the corner of the room and was told it had been put in there to store it, as apparently they always do when they don't need it, (I had ordered a room, not a storage room).
We had to buy ourselves a new kettle as the one in the room was full of green slime.
Couldn't get a drink from the bar until after 6 because of a private function on the first day.
Went back up to the room to get changed before going out to find somewhere to get a drink and have something to eat. Sat on the bottom of the bed to put my shoes on and the lates fell out of the bottom of the bed. I didn't report it to reception, but left it obvious so that the cleaner could see it, but it never got rectified.
Carpets were shabby and worn out. Television in the room never worked. We reported the tv and someone came to have a look, but it never worked. Hotel was generally shabby all the way through. Breakfast was basic self service. Jams weren't in individual jars, so nothing to stop cross contamination. Anyone could just stick their own knife in it. No choice of fried eggs for breakfast. Infact it was a case of scrambled egg or no egg from what we saw.
We had originally booked for 5 nights but booked ourselves out after 3, and the only reason we stayed the third night is because we were visiting friends on the last night, otherwise we would have been home earlier. We got a refund for the nights we didn't stop. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank leeba2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

booked a room last week becasuse of the location and also the free parking. Had to pay to park two streets away to check in and find out where the hotel parking was. We were told there were 6 parks out the front ( none if which were vacant) to share between 2 other restaurants and the hotel but we could park three streets away if we wanted. Mobility issues prevented that option so we left. Even though they falsely advertised free parking we were unable to get our money back. Perhaps a good thing in the end as friends stayed a few days later and said it was terrible with run dpwen tooms, smelly corridors and poor breakfast.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
338 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
124 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 10 in Whitley Bay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
23 reviews
0.3 km away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
230 reviews
2.9 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 13-17 East Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range: $92 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing