We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$79
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cara Guesthouse(Whitley Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$79
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
US$77
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$66
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esplanade Lodge(Whitley Bay)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Hotel(Whitley Bay)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
183
138
59
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
138
59
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbuffet stylesea frontitalian restaurant next doorbreakfast roomfree upgradelady on receptionhotel barfull englishbar next doorsingle roomon arrivalbooked this hoteltoastwould stay againone night staystreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 434 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Rooms are basic, a little tired but clean.

View will be good once the promenade is complete.

Breakfast is excellent. Staff are friendly. The lady on reception is polite and helpful and I will likely use the Royal again on return visits to Whitley Bay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017

my mother and I stayed here one night, the staff are friendly, lady on reception looked after my 83 year old mother while I parked the car
we were a little disappointed that we couldn't eat in the bar as there was a wedding on, but we found a lovely fish and chip restaurant nearby, and that we didn't have a sea view, but we were only there for one night.
breakfast was everything you could think of, cereal, toast, etc, really nice (bacon not dried out as usual in hotels)
really enjoyed our stay - thanks

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookie272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

*Couldn't get parked
*Online discount wasn't applied
*Woke up at 7 in the morning by room service shouting across the hallway to each other
*Bathroom was old and dirty
*Blinds were broken and wouldn't close
*BREAKFAST -don't do it, so so very poor
*Overpriced for the quality

I wouldn't return or recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

We only required a stay for one night and booked a great deal via Booking.com. We discovered that to have a sea view we would have to pay another £20. Having done this we had a pleasant room but nothing special apart from a lime green sofa. The tv was ok on bbc1 but everything else was pixilated and the receptionist was aware. Everything was very clean but I don't think it was worth £75.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SSalsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it looked nice on the internet.
We booked a "suite" what we thought would be a larger room and a bit of a treat for ourselves.
The advert for the hotel states free parking. This is a complete joke!!! There are 6 parking spaces outside which covers the Italian restaurant next door, the bar area and approximate 15 hotel rooms. Everywhere else is permit parking or a car park that you have to pay to park. Mentioned the parking issue but no one seemed interested and said that you can park for free 2 or 3 streets away.
Booking in was easy and the gentleman that booked us in was pleasant.
We were shown to our room which we had booked a suite expecting a nice luxury spacious area. Boy was we wrong!!! We commented on the single bed that was pushed into the corner of the room and was told it had been put in there to store it, as apparently they always do when they don't need it, (I had ordered a room, not a storage room).
We had to buy ourselves a new kettle as the one in the room was full of green slime.
Couldn't get a drink from the bar until after 6 because of a private function on the first day.
Went back up to the room to get changed before going out to find somewhere to get a drink and have something to eat. Sat on the bottom of the bed to put my shoes on and the lates fell out of the bottom of the bed. I didn't report it to reception, but left it obvious so that the cleaner could see it, but it never got rectified.
Carpets were shabby and worn out. Television in the room never worked. We reported the tv and someone came to have a look, but it never worked. Hotel was generally shabby all the way through. Breakfast was basic self service. Jams weren't in individual jars, so nothing to stop cross contamination. Anyone could just stick their own knife in it. No choice of fried eggs for breakfast. Infact it was a case of scrambled egg or no egg from what we saw.
We had originally booked for 5 nights but booked ourselves out after 3, and the only reason we stayed the third night is because we were visiting friends on the last night, otherwise we would have been home earlier. We got a refund for the nights we didn't stop. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank leeba2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews