We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with the kids”
Review of Bellamy's Bistro

Bellamy's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$122
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a popular 'Bistro'. We open from 10:00 in the morning, closing at 2.30, we re-open for the evening at 5.30 last orders at 8.30 in the evening, during the summer. Our opening times vary with the seasons. We are small and friendly, having the capacity for 32 covers. Our food is cooked in our own kitchen by 2 very good chefs. We use fresh ingredients and locally produced Beef, Lamb and free-range eggs from a local farm. Lobster and Crab from local fishermen. We try our best to deliver great food, attentive service, pleasant atmosphere, and an enjoyable dining, experience all at good value. Last orders 15 mins before closing time. However, there is no rush for evening diners to leave the the Bistro we will happily continue to serve drinks and desserts to diners already with us.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on our first nights stay in Sandown and were lucky to get a table.
We were well looked after and the waitress was very friendly and helpful. Food was nice but being Italian I guess we are a little picky on any pasta dishes that we try. It’s not a very big place and the interior could do with a little facelift but we enjoyed our food and loved that they did the old traditional deserts like banana split and knickerbocker glory! The kids were given those magnetic drawing boards which I thought was a great idea - although a little young for a 7 and 5 year old. Would go back.

Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Lucy for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you would return to us. We do give the Bistro a little face lift every year before we open but we do like to keep the the old cosy feel of it. (Not for everyone maybe). We do offer the drawing boards to all children, whether to draw or play hangman or other games, to occupy them while waiting. I know some of them prefer their iPads. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Thank you
Yvonne Simon and the Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked here after seeing reviews on trip advisor. It did not disappoint!! Fantastic food, welcoming atmosphere and have even booked to go back tomorrow night. Well worth a visit !!

1  Thank Swampdonkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you enjoyed your time at Bellamy's. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope you enjoyed your second visit as much!
Thank you
Yvonne Simon and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a nice meal here the other day. Food very good,( cold day , and it was cold in restaurant! ,( but i think it had been closed for a while) but food was hot , nicely decorated and had nice sayings on the walls.Friendly staff

Thank Julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time, to write a review. We are always pleased when time at Bellamy's is enjoyed. I'm so sorry you were cold, as you say it has benn un-seasonally cold. We do have heating on but takes a little while to get cosy. I think you were a lunch time visitor, it's always a little warmer in the evenings.
Hope you visit us again when things have warmed up a little.
Thank you.
Yvonne, Simon and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Bellamy's never ceases to deliver. Top quality home made food at a very reasonable price and fantastic service.

1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we'll see you again.

Thank you
Yvonne Simon and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Had a great meal here in the autumn, sorry forgot to review!, Lucky to get in as it was really busy. The food was very well cooked and plenty of it. There were lots of people who had been there quite a few times by the sound of it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bellamy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

We so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I'm also being a little tardy in my replies as we are closed on our winter break. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope we'll see you again.
Thank you
Yvonne Simon and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellamy's Bistro also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
Newchurch, Sandown
 

Been to Bellamy's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing