We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner ... beef burger awful!”

The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 64 Restaurants in Sandown
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant is set on Sandown Bay. Boasting panoramic coastal views across the Channel it is the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. The Ocean Deck focuses on good, unpretentious, traditional food, using the freshest ingredients, sourced as close to home as possible. Whether you choose a three-course meal, a sandwich, an ice-cold beer or a bottle of wine to enjoy out on the decking, a friendly welcome will always greet you at this family run, chic-nautical themed bar and restaurant.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Visited here last night after reading reviews on tripadvisor and thought we would give it a go .. disappointed! Kids had ham egg and chips (couldn’t go wrong with that) and theirs was ok. My husband had the chicken burger and I the cheeseburger ... well for £11.95 each i’d expect something better than frozen burgers from a supermarket. The beef burger was awful ... tasted cheap and no flavour what so ever! The salads on both adult dishes had no dressing, nor were we offered any. The sauces were in sachets, not even bottles. We told the waiter / manager that we were disappointed with the burger and his sarcastic response was that they’d been using the same burgers for 4 years now and no-one else had complained. Not a very good customer service response.
Won’t be visiting here again and if anyone else was to go here I’d recommend steering clear of the burgers!!

Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 528 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Called in here for lunch. The Sunday carvery looked amazing but unfortunately we didn’t choose that and had terrible fish and chips instead. Batter was like shoe leather. When the bill came we were stunned to find we’d been charged 15p for a slice of lemon in a drink.

Thank MotorhomeMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S, Owner at The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

I'm sorry to learn you did not have a good experience with us.

I asked you several times if everything was ok, and again when the gentleman you were dining with came up to pay. You both assured me everything was fine.

It is such a shame you couldn't have mentioned this at a time when we could have done something to rectify it and turn your situation around.

I'm not sure what this 15p is that you were charged, we don't have a function on the till that charges anything at 15p, and we certainly do not charge our customers for lemon!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Just had a gorgeous roast at Ocean Deck. Available in small, medium or large, choice of meats (there were even 2 beef joints - one pink and one well done), Yorkshire puds, sausage stuffing, lots of veg. Would definitely recommend. Sunday 12:00 til 15:00

Thank deewhy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Came for dinner with my partner. The staff were super happy and helpful. We had the the Lamb Stew on the specials. It was so nice i almost licked the bowl. food,music and staff were perfect. Cant wait to go back and sit on that decking and enjoy the view. Thanks guys. See you in the summer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

A friend and I went here for Sunday lunch the food was amazing and the staff were very polite and welcoming we had really lovely afternoon.
Highly recommended!

Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Ocean Deck Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing