We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Unusually for my reviews I will start off with negative observation (please read the entire review) in that the room allocated to us was not to our liking, the decor was a little tired, natural light was very restricted due to a single window overlooking the flat roof to the kitchens, that accompanied by the sound of an extractor fan.

I contacted the staff on reception who had been very good on our arrival they assisted in everyway to resolve our concern relating to the room. Unfortunately due to the popularity of the hotel (travel zoo offer) there were no alternative rooms available for the two consecutive nights we were there. The deputy manager was as helpful as he could be, but obviously not capable of producing an alternative room out of nowhere. There was another minor issue relating to the spa bath which was rectified. This prompted the intervention of the manager who was very apologetic and understanding so much so that he offered a resolution that was more than adequate to us.

The location was ideal set in its own grounds, with an easy walk into Sandown, the facilities were very good and constant use was being made of the hot tub etc.

The lounge area was very comfortable and relaxing for a drink before evening dinner and after, the service by the barman who doubled up as the wine waiter was excellent, someone who knows his role extremely well and very pleasant with it.

The evening meal was excellent with a good variety superbly cooked, presented very well and served by staff who were very pleasant and attentive. Breakfast followed a similar pattern.

Although I started this review on a negative note the service, friendliness and willingness of the staff to try and resolve our concern coupled with the resolution made this a very enjoyable stay which is why i have given an overall rating of excellent

Our room No was 108

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    451
    158
    62
    58
See reviews for
90
728
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Last weekend four of us stayed at Melville Hall Hotel and we had a wonderful time, the hotel is very clean and tidy, the staff are friendly/entertaining/genuine/helpful & cannot do enough for you. The restaurant was excellant, our meal was of 5* quality and would recommend just to eat there if not staying. We were truely pampered and looked after, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and I for one will be heading for another stay there. one other aspect which I would point out is that no children under 14 are permitted and this made for a very tranquile weekend especially in the pool ! Sandown is literally 5 mins walk down an incline of which was even managable for one of our group suffering from asthma on the way up, Sandown has some lovely bars and restaurants if you fancy a walk to the beach.
Thank You to all at Melville and see you very soon
Natalie :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have just returned from a Spa Break weekend at this Hotel which was discovered via Travel Zoo. The deal included ferry crossing for car and passengers, an evening meal on one night, breakfast on both days and two spa treatments each as well as a welcoming bottle of wine in our room. Tea, coffee and biscuits was available throughout the day free of charge and use of spa facilities was also included. The food was excellent although the evening menu consisted of mainly fish dishes. There is an outdoor jacuzzi and swimming pool although the outdoor pool was not open during our stay as it was so early in the season. The sun terrace has comfortable chairs and sun loungers and is a real sun trap. Our room was small but comfortable and had a large en suite bathroom. Children are not allowed at this hotel so it is ideal for those that prefer a child free environment. The weekend was exceptional value for money and as there is so much to see and do on the Isle of Wight we were spoilt for choice as to what to do with our time. We are already looking at planning another weekend as they are offering package deals like this between now and August.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellied100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

As three couples we have been back to the Melville Hall Hotel for their spa break several times and it never fails to give good value for money. The staff make it - they are friendly, welcoming and offer a very high standard of customer service. The rooms have recently been refurbished and offer a comfortable, although traditional style.

The evening meal is of a very high standard - my only observation this time was that the chef needs to reintroduce the daily special menu again, alongside the standard menu. Breakfast is also very good and freshly cooked to order.

The newly opened outdoor hot tub was great to use in February. Our group enjoyed the spa treatments included in the deal.

We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireFordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was a suprise gift from my daughter, we had never had a spa day and we were unsure of what to expect. She bought a package which included car ferry crossing, bed and breakfast and spa treatments.

The hotel room was good, we had 2 bedrooms and one bathroom for our room, one bedroom with a double bed and the coffee/tea facilities and a TV and the other bedroom with a single bed and TV.

The spa was excellent we had 90 mins of treatments each within our package and this we spread over the 3 days of our stay, fitting in with the opportunity to tour the Isle of Wight.

We arrived on Friday on the morning ferry, all booked by the hotel, and checked into the hotel. We had our first treatment that afternoon, a pedicure, so we toured some of the island first. On Saturday we toured around the island before lunch and then we had our second treatment, a relaxing back and neck massage, we spent most of the afternoon in the spa area. Our final treatment was on Sunday morning, a manicure, before our departure.

I must say there were many more treatments but these were the ones we chose.

During Friday and Saturday we also took the opportunity to endulge in the hotel spa areas, we used the outdoor hot tub which in March we found very invigarating even though there was a slight drizzle of rain, it did not matter, the pool hot tub was excellent and would hold 10 people comfortably. We also used the indoor pool, jacuzi and the detox and sauna rooms.

We dined each night in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent with the service to match, even when we made requests to slightly change the menu on offer.

We delayed our return ferry crossing to relax a little more on Sunday morning and the hotel rearrange our crossing time.

Free coffee/tea facilites were available all day, every day, with biscuits and in the afternoon free fruit was available. What more can you want.

Each floor of the hotel had a free water cooler and these were also dotted around the spa and rest areas.

As I said this was our first experience, but will not be our last. We felt refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the place!
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

For the money it worked out very well. It is only a 5 min walk to the sea front. Room had everything we needed. Parking is a bit limited. Staff seem really nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBrightside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We saw an offer of two nights accommodation, an evening meal (with wine) and spa treatments included for only £100 each (there were two of us). For the money it represented exceptional value and in truth they didn't need to be quite so generous. The hotel is showing it's age a little but the staff and quality of the food more than made up for any shortcomings in the furnishings. We were really pleasantly surprised at the quality and presentation of our meal and would have expected to pay between £60 - £80 for that alone if we had eaten it in a restaurant. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the sea and whilst Sandown could do withe some investment, Shanklin and even Ventnor are a pleasant walk or bus ride away. For a low cost pleasant get away, this hotel ticked all the boxes and on that basis I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the worse rooms in the hotel (but we still enjoyed our stay). If you get the chance av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
3.5 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.5 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
9.0 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Property: Melville Hall Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing