We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
47
49
35
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
49
35
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room coal fire high tea shower tray exceptional value on arrival beds were comfortable return visit great shower double bed main course scones meal plug ensuite scotland whiskey
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 169 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2015

Had lunch here today and was very impressed from the moment we entered the hotel. The receptionist was very welcoming and showed us where to go for our meal. The seating area was bright and had a nice atmosphere. The waitress was very helpful and the meal itself was brilliant. With a starter , a main, a sweet and a glass of wine for £8.95 it was great value for money.The cauliflower and broccoli fritters starter was a meal in itself!!
Would choose here before 'Wetherspoons' any day!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2015

Had lunch here today with a friend and both of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We both had main meals and sweets with a 125ml glass of wine for £5.95 each. Good choice on menu served by friendly waiter. Very good value for money. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 212LINDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2015

we stayed here for our wedding night and had an absolutely fantastic time, the staff were so friendly and willing to help, the rooms are large and very comfortable and the breakfast was super yummy would reccomend this hotel over the others in Blair down to the fact that the cost is great and the quality is great. it was August 2012 we stayed here but had a friend staying here august last year too

Room Tip: we stayed in the honeymoon suite that was very large but as far as i am aware the front of the hotel is quietest
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2014

We held my father-in-laws 90th birthday party here with about 30 guests we were rather cramped in the function room provided. The food was in the main very average with some desserts still frozen on being served. The waiting staff were pleasant and worked hard to get everyone served while food still hot. Doubt if I would return.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on rooms as did not stay in hotel
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank fairweatherlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2014

Three senior men stayed here overnight between golfing days. I rate it as average because the rooms are a little basic, but very clean. Old fashioned décor and a difficult access carrying golf clubs do not allow a higher rating - but there the bad news is over!
B&B at excellent rates, well stocked bar with pleasant, helpful staff, fabulous dinner(Cullen Skink, Gallia Melon, Black Pudding fritters, steaks and large mixed grill) at a fair price in a pleasant room and an excellent breakfast served by a charming efficient lady all contributed to a wish to rate the hotel higher
Centrally located in the town with easy access to local golf courses(all very good indeed) I commend this hotel as excellent, not pretentious with modest but clean and comfortable rooms. I believe however that "Superior" rooms were available

Room Tip: Pay extra for superior if you want a more modern room but the ordinary rooms are adequate, but old fashioned
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JayBird58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews