We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“FAULTLESS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilmore House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gilmore House
Ranked #3 of 21 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FAULTLESS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Comfortable, friendly, great breakfasts - you couldn't ask for any more.

It was the small touches that iced the cake: fresh milk in a flask on the hospitality tray instead of the usual ghastlyUHT, a couple of chocolates on the dressing table

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Many thanks and I look forward to maybe welcoming you back to enjoy the mountains again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

A warm welcome and attention to detail in a fabulous house with history and character, why would you want to stay in a hotel?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanking you for the feedback and hope to maybe see you next time you return to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Well, what to say really,we loved it! Me and my wife usually staying in hotels when travelling , but this time decided to give B&B a try-we were not disappointed, it was faultless! Great service, comfy bed and delicious breakfast. We could not recommend it highly enough. Thank you Jill& Arnaud!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolceritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a positive Bed and Breakfast experience and we didn't disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I completely agree with all of the brilliant reviews. We stayed for 3 nights over new year. Extremely clean cosy rooms, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. such a treat on new years morning to be brought breakfast and champagne in bed! We'd like to thank Jill for her friendly hospitality and such good value for money. We'd love to come back next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilmorehouse, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
A lovely review to start of the New Year, thank you very much for your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you back - Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Gilmore absolutely deserves a full 5 stars. The rooms were cosy but beautifully furnished with lots of thoughtful touches and plenty of space. Great bathrooms, spacious, well fitted out, Beds supremely comfortable. Charming hostess. This place is way above the normal standard for its category and incidentally, excellent value. We will return with pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagacious_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Gilmore House so positively and delighted that you had a great stay and consider us to be value for money. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My cousin and I stayed at Gilmore House the night before starting our 5 day walk on the Cateran Trail. Our stay here certainly got us off to a good start! The rooms were lovely, but it was the food that caught our attention. Oh my! We had never experienced anything like the Perthshire breakfast that greeted us in the morning. It was the most amazing breakfast I have ever been served. As it turned out, we ended up walking 18 miles that day, so it was good we had eaten such a substantial meal!

I can't wait to return to Scotland, and when I do I will be spending a few nights in Blairgowrie again just so I can enjoy the hospitality of the Gilmore House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristieinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted yourself and your cousin enjoyed your stay and breakfast. It would be great to welcome you back if and when you make a return visit to scotland. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at Gilmore House during the Blairgowrie Walking festival. Bedrooms are very comfortable with an amazing selection of teas and coffees on a tray - oh and some sweets! Bathroom has lovely fluffy towels, a good shower and again a selection of goodies to use. Beds are extra comfy with a mattress topper and superb quality sheets and covers. I did not have time to make proper use of the sitting rooms, but one of these is upstairs with great views and a handy pair of binoculars. Breakfast is excellent with a great choice, including fresh Blairgowrie berries, muffins as well as the cooked to order items chosen on the morning. Jill was extra accommodationg and gave us a cooked breakfast at 7am as we had an early start. (some others of our walking group at different B&Bs could only get cereal at this early hour) Jill also dried my soaking clothes and boots. You would really expect to pay more for the comfort and splendid breakfasts provided. Ace place.

Room Tip: 3 rooms - 2 doubles, one of which is bigger than the other and a very good sized twin with good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gilmore House, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words and I so am glad you had such a nice experience staying with us. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
1.2 km away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.0 km away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
7.8 km away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 km away
Altamount House Hotel
Altamount House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.1 km away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore House

Property: Gilmore House
Address: Perth Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional detached late Victorian family home, offering bed and breakfast in 3 en-suite rooms. Comfy, homely and warm ambience. Well situated to explore Perthshire and beyond. Within walking distance of town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Gilmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore House Blairgowrie, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing