We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
70
8
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
8
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath steak pie sunday carvery sticky toffee pudding working very hard two nights in a row owners peter underfloor heating new owners highland wildlife park lovely food big portions coal fire great shower power shower lounge area big room
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 82 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

The one positive for the restaurant here were the staff, very friendly & helpful but that’s it.
Food was very mediocre, nothing special & definitely not worth what we paid for it.
Can’t comment on the hotel as we didn’t stay. Not many eating places to choose from on a Monday evening in Kingussie.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DiR434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Owner at McInnes House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Hello. Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear we were not to your liking. Pleased to hear from you that we were friendly and welcoming to you .
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Sorry for the late review. We stayed at the beginning of April with my cousins. Two couples. It was basic enough but we had a good large bathroom with bath. The people that run this place really make it, as does the food. We dined on one evening & it was excellent. Great food great service good atmosphere. Break was also good. We were glad it was close to Aviemore because there was zero to do in Kingussie. Disappointed that no pubs had on any entertainment at all. Aviemore is good though. The steam train is nice. Live entertainment on in Aviemore. Good walking shops. The wildlife park is well worth a visit. We didn't go this time as we had recently visited.
A big thumbs up the the two guys running McInnes & all the family members helping. All the best guys.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dellulahlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Owner at McInnes House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Hello. Many thanks for the review. Happy to hear you enjoyed staying and dining with us.
It was great having you stay, i do remember guests, even from months ago . Thanks again Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Very cosy, comfortable, big room, with nice views from the window. Food at the dinner was lovely and so was breakfast. Very homely, healthy, and yet tasty.

The best thing about the place were the hosts. Right from the owners to the staff, everyone was accommodating and went out of way to provide us extras especially for our 2 years old tantrum throwing daughter. They gave us extra big bed since they knew we are coming with child, extra milk, out of menu food etc. with very big smile on face. These little things sometimes make all the difference.

The only (although insignificant) negatives were
- broken knobs in the bathroom and toilet (room 2). But may be that was to accommodate us in a bigger child friendly room.
- No TV/ football in the lounge during world cup - but may be thats the personality they want to adopt and project. Although miffed in start later I rather enjoyed the food and conversation than a match.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kanu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Positives - rooms and hotel area are fantastic, v comfy beds and tasty food and good prices. Staff were really friendly and laid back, you can come and go as you please. They’ve done a brilliant job renovating this place

Negatives - the atmosphere is extremely quiet. This is pretty picky of me but for a fri/ sat night you’d hope the music could be turned up a tiny bit, most couples whispering overly politely. WiFi didn’t work in room 4 but didn’t really care!

Overall would definitely recommend this place, perhaps to 30+ ages looking for a quieter stay :) thanks!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank G7424LTjackb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018

great place to stay. The owners were very friendly, and chatty, We were made to feel welcome. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was hearty and set us up for the day.
The hotel is near to the highland wildlife park and to Aviemore, a good location.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excursion471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Owner at McInnes House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Thank you for the review. Glad you seem to enjoy your stay with us and our hearty portion sizes. Hope to see you again. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews