We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great facility and hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sundowner Cottage

Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Private deck looking over the tree lined garden Spacious, open plan kitchen and dining room with high beamed ceiling.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Private deck looking over the tree lined garden
Spacious, open plan kitchen and dining room with high beamed ceiling.
Living room opening out through patio doors to the deck
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Main Bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Private parking next to cottage
Large tree lined garden
Large tree lined garden with seating areas
View of courtyard garden from kitchen
Table tennis room
Ruthven Barracks (adjacent) is floodlit at night
RSPB Bird Reserve just l mile away
Tromie River just l mile away for paddling and swimming
Entrance drive.  Quiet and scenic, set in 2 acres
Highland Cattle at the entrance driveway with Ruthven Castle behind
Polar bears at the Highland Wildlife Park just 4 miles
Kingussie just a 14 minute walk to shops and restaurants, golf 2 miles
Loch Morlich with the Cairngorms behind, just 20 minutes drive
Ptarmigan restaurant Cairngorm Mountain, winter skiing summer walking and funicular railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dolomite...
L
1 review
“Great facility and hosts”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely cottage - plenty of space for two of us, I think there'd be plenty of space for 4.

We were there in winter and it was great having such a great place to come home to. Very close to all the hills and the centre of Kingussie.

Great hosts - friendly but not imposing. Nice touch to have a pint of milk, a loaf of bread and bottle wine on arrival!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, modern accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guests,

We are so pleased you had such a good holiday and enjoyed staying in the cottage. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Kingston, Australia
1 review
“Our Home Away From Home”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Living in Tasmania, we usually make a trip home to Scotland every two years and make a point of spending a week in the Highlands with Mum and Dad. This was our third stay with Julie and John - first time in Sundowner (the other two stays were in Spindrift).
What can we say?
The welcome we received was warm and friendly just like on our previous stays. Both Julie and John are extremely approachable and ready to help whether it's with information about the local area or how the heating system works.
Sundowner is a quality holiday let. The cottage is clean, warm and very well appointed - and includes satellite tv, wifi access, and a fully equipped kitchen with a dishwasher.
Set in peaceful surroundings Sundowner is ideally located to explore the surrounding areas or, if you prefer, just sit back, relax, and do nothing. There's plenty of wildlife in the extensive gardens surrounding the cottage - our cameras were kept very busy on our latest visit.
Sundowner truly is "our home away from home". If you are looking for a quality holiday rental in the Highlands we have no hesitation in recommending Sundowner Cottage.
I know we are looking forward to our next stay!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulugallo...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous base for exploring Rothiemurchus and the Cairngorm area”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a great holiday in Sundowner. The accommodation was clean, warm, welcoming, extremely comfortable and beautifully designed and built. We used it as a base for exploring the area including cycling and walking with our 5 year old boy in the Rothiemurchus estate. We took him on the G2 zipwiring experience which was fantastic and borrowed the bikes to cycle to Loch Insch RSPB reserve. It was perfect for us and we've booked again for next Easter! Fresh vegetables, bread and wine on arrival all added to the enjoyment of this top class holiday accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Immaculate cottage in a spectacular area!”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed several times at Ruthven Steadings B&B in the past and had no hesitation at booking a week in the Sundowner cottage, which is also owned and run by Julie and John and part of the old Steadings.
John rebuilt and fitted out the properties and they are equipped and maintained to a very high standard indeed. The cottage was spotless and we felt very much at home each day we returned at the end of a day's walking. The gardens and surrounds of the Steadings are equally well maintained and there is a lovely sheltered deck area where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine in the evenings outside the patio doors.
Well placed for anyone who loves walking, cycling or just being outdoors, there's storage for bikes and a drying room for soggy boots!
Needless to say we have already booked for next year before we left.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and standard of the property also the owners, who are brilliant.
Liked least: Honestly couldn't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBurts2...
Bridge of Allan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, everything you could need plus more and in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is definitely one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in. The cottage itself is gorgeous. Very modern and clean. The kitchen has everything you could need plus a lot more. There is WiFi, dvd player etc. The bedrooms are spacious with loads of hanging space. Outside there is a brilliant lawn, perfect for our toddler to run around in. You can access the veg patch for produce too if it's the right time of year. The lovely owners are very welcoming whilst still giving you privacy. The wine and homemade bread was a lovely touch. In terms of location you couldn't want more. We visited landmark, wildlife Park, steam train, mountain railway, ospreys, folk museum and did the wildcat trail (hugely recommend the last two attractions). We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robannabi...
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very high quality cottage - thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived having spent the previous week in another very nice cottage and as our teenage son put it, Sundowner knocked spots off it. It's ideal for a holiday cottage - spacious, very well equipped, extremely comfortable and just invites you to relax and enjoy the surrounding countryside. Everything is in place for you, with all the essentials provided (including dishwasher tablets and washing powder) through to real treats (a home made loaf, a bottle of wine to greet us and salad and vegetables from the garden). A glorious week which we have thoroughly enjoyed - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne E
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Practical but stylish cottage on a beautiful site in a great location”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

First impression of the interior was very pleasing - a spacious, spotlessly clean and good looking main apartment with bedrooms to match. Familiarity only enhanced this impression. Every detail was pleasing from the quality bedding, the cooking pots and casseroles (all sizes!) and comfortable suite to the heating system and WiFi: and all in working order.
And if they hadn't been, Julie and John, most attentive and sensitive hosts, were always on hand to help. They have developed this site beautifully. The two holiday cottages are semi-detached but designed to give each one privacy. Easy car parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many good things to choose from!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing