We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting far better 2 star.”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Once again we had a fantastic weekend break at Palm Court. The staff are more of a family than staff, and they are willing to do anything to ensure you enjoy your stay. I am hard to please in the hotel system for food as I have allergy's to Meat,Fish and many Herbs and Spices due to having Polio and Scarlet Fever within a month of each other in my infancy. But the chefs at Palm Court went out of there way to ensure I had plenty of food. The room was clean and spacious and the entertainment was very good. We highly recommend Palm Court for any one including people with difficulties as well. You will be treat equally, and there is always help around. We was in a coach party and it is hard to please everyone but there was no complaints from anyone about anything. God Bless You
Margaret and Graham Copeland

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Palm Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

Having stayed in quite a few hotels around the world this one was very good value for money in comparison! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were a little dated, but for a two star hotel I think they were more than adequate and the food was lovely - I am a vegetarian which has caused many problems at different hotels in the past, however I was very well catered for here. Ilfracombe itself is a stellar location for a weekend away and overall I was very pleased with the accommodation and location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants good value for money and a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarrietD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We visited the Palm Court Hotel last week on a coach tour from North Wales, we offen go on these tours and I have to say what a great time we had. Nice big room very clean and comfortable. The best thing was the food Iam a veggie and where you normally have just one veggie choice I was offered a special menu where there was at least 8 choices. Thank you Palm Court for looking after me so well. The staff were great and very friendly and kind. We also enjoyed the entertainment I nearly won the Quizz, we also had a great singer and a fella who playe the organ. All in all a great holiday

Room Tip: Nice level walk to the Harbour and Seafront
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Weather wet and blustery outside, but the conservatory was light and airy, perfect place to read the papers after breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful, hot and as self service, I got just what I wanted. Perfect start to the day.

Room was pleasant and comfortable, after all the walking, a comfortable bed was perfect.

Everything was clean, staff lovely, nothing was too much trouble.

The evening meal was well cooked, cheerily served, the menu was varied and the dining room bright and very hospitable. The entertainment each evening was just that, very entertaining - the high light was the bingo and quiz night - a real icebreaker with the guests!

Taking my Mother in Law on her first holiday after losing her husband was quite a stressful time, but the Palm Court and its staff made me determined to repeat the experience with them next year.

Many thanks all of you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel is dated, rooms have worn out furniture and gaudy curtains. Popular with coach parties and older clientele. Guests have to wait for bell to ring to go into dining room, not allowed to sit where you want, food rationed, no extras, although breakfast buffet a bit better, but limited choice of food with someone making sure you don't sneak 2 rashers of bacon instead of one onto your plate! One fish and chip dinner we had was truly awful.
Lift is tiny and slow, always had to queue, stairs like a labyrinth, building on different split levels. TV not working but was fixed same day.
Found it all quite bizarre!
On plus side - most cleaning and kitchen staff were from overseas (Poland) and they were all lovely and very helpful when you needed something. Really happy about that. Rooms clean enough, bed comfy, easy walk to town and harbour area, big Lidl supermarket on corner. Next door to the tunnels, leading to great bathing area and beach. Liked Ilfracombe and Devon, but not keen on this hotel.

Room Tip: some really tiny, insist on a double with space
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We visited Ilfracombe on a coach tour and stayed at the Palm Court Hotel, well we had a great time staff were friendly always helpful and nothing too much trouble. Our room had a new carpet nice size and very clean, bathroom had a shower over the bath, and again very clean. We really enjoyed the food and with the buffet breakfast no need for lunch. \we will be back!!!

Room Tip: large low floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dhbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Having travelled down to see family a warm welcome greeted me upon arrival. Super friendly staff (nothing to much trouble) Clean and well kept room. Breakfast was buffet style all of which was freshly cooked and rather yummy! A very comfy hotel with a lovely happy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fumblefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
433 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
277 reviews
0.7 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
1.5 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Wilder Road | Ilfracombe, Ilfracombe EX34 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $112 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Court Hotel is owned by the same family for the last 28 years. It is centrally located 30m from the sea front, with its own Car park.A great location to investigate Ilfracombe by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Hotel Ilfracombe, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing