We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April. Two female receptionists greeted us and although we were slightly early for check in they made the effort of finding out if our room was available for us. Room was quite small but lovely and clean and well supplied with tea and coffee that was replenished everyday, also clean towels daily. Food was very good and plentiful with a wide variety of dishes.
Although the outside of this hotel looks rather tied do not let this put you off, as the friendliness of ALL staff is second to none. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review this hotel Sharon. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    123
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
64
105
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday,we were greeted by two members of staff at reception who could'nt do enough for you.Our room was spotless and modern.Breakfast was nice and so was the bar area.All in all this hotel is great value for money and i would thoroughly recommend it if you are going ti Ilfracombe!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you Lewises for a great review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I supported a friend on this holiday - a mystery tour with a coach company. What a smashing time we had, an older hotel but immaculately clean, fresh towels, bathroom cleaned and beds made & teatray replenished everyday. Restaurant choices were great, always a meat dish, a fish dish and a veggie dish (smashing quorn cottage pie!) something for everyone. My friend has a disability and staff could not be more helpful, we wouldn't hesitate nto recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Rolfies. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Took a coach party of 61 mature folk for a 3 day weekend walking visit. Management and staff very helpful. Hotel midway through a refit.Rooms already refurbished are very good, the remainder are still very acceptable, comfortable, clean. Not all rooms have scenic views, but there is nothing to complain about. With a mixed group, you would expect a few moans/complaints, but not one problem mentioned, many commented on the varied menu of good quality fayre. One couple stayed on for a further 3 days, and were very complimentary at the service they received. Overall we would all recommend staying at this hotel.This was not my first visit, my previous time was in 2007, and although the refurb was only just started it was still a good hotel.

Room Tip: rely on the management
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Graham. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stopped for just the one night as I came down to watch the lighting of the lights.
First impressions of the hotel from the outside was very good. Some hotels tend to let themselves down with how the outside looks, but not the Carlton.

As I walked into the reception area I was greeted by two smiley happy members of staff. One of them read the terms and conditions of booking and gave me the ins and outs of the hotel in a humorous way which made a nice change from the usual style given in other hotels.

My room was was very clean, it wasn't a fairly big room but I was a single traveller so that was to be expected, but it was very clean and warm and I couldn't fault it even if I had scrutinized every nook and cranny. Also it was well stocked of refreshments, there was a nice choice of different coffee's or tea and there was even an Aero drinking chocolate in the choice too, so this was a delight as usually hotels I stop in only offer one brand of tea and one brand of coffee!

The hotel itself was very bright and airy, nice carpets in the corridors, even the lift had a nice decor hehe.

I woke for breakfast and took the lift down to the dining room which was fairly large in size, it reminded me of a room I would of seen in the 1930s with how it was kitted out - now that is meant as a compliment because it really was a cool dining room, even had some nice music playing softly over the speakers. I was immediately greeted by the lady from the reception the previous night who was always smiling and seemed to be the happiest person in Ilfracombe, such a nice lady - anyways the full English Breakfast was the best I've probably eaten - big rashers of bacon, a huge sausage that was very tasty and the fried egg was nice and fluffy - my compliments to the chef!!

If you have reached this far in my review then answer the following few questions:

Do you want a hotel in a good location in Ilfracombe?
Do you want to stay at a nice clean and well managed hotel?
Do you want an awesome breakfast to start your day?
Do you sometimes wish the staff at the hotels you stay were a tad friendlier?

If you answered YES to those questions then I really suggest you give the Carlton some consideration because for the price I paid to stay here I feel it's a great value for money hotel and then some!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaizarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Delighted to learn that you will be returning. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Once again another good 4 night break. I do think this hotel could be given another star by the AA, currently 2, deserves 3.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road at the back much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esher_SurreyRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This is a great value, clean and friendly hotel in a really good location. Located a stones throw from the town centre, sea and the quay. The hotel is a little bit dated in style but this is more than made up for by the cleanliness and comfort. A very tasty full English breakfast is served in the morning along with a continental selection. They also benefit from free off street parking and a bar. It’s not the Ritz but for the price they charge you really can't go wrong or complain. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Helen. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.2 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 km away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing