We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
129
96
75
38
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
96
75
38
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour view four poster bed free upgrade out of season twin room stayed one night comfy bed full english breakfast short break quay dog seagulls devon pubs
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 399 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Nothing much to look at from the outside. But like many older places it is fabulous inside. We had the best view of all, looking straight into the harbour from the well appointed bay window. The room is beautifully decorated. The bath...ahhhhh! The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Thank you. We will be back......

Room tip: Room with a view. Costs a little more, but why else are we here?
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyvanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a weekend at this hotel. We had a basic family room which was very tired, the floors creaked, which means everyone was woken up at night when someone used the bathroom.
The place was very run down, and you could smell the attached Asian Restaurant.
When we booked we checked that they accepted dogs, which their website promised. "Yes" we were told they allow dogs. However on arrival it was made clear to us that our dog was only allowed in the room and in the small bar area. The bar area was always full of locals worse the wear on alcohol so taking the family there, even if there was room, was not an option.
I don't believe having one room is dog friendly, I felt a little unhappy about this hence the 1 star rating.
The hotel seems to trade on its "Royal" connection and it's harbour views. If you like nice hotels, this isn't for you.
Staff were non-existent, reception was a locked office and you just left keys in a box on departure.
Never again.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

The hotel is perfectly positioned in ilfracombe harbour and a very good central point from which to explore ilfracombe.
The room we stayed in was tiny and in my opinion very dated. The hotel could do with an update to make it more spacious and welcoming. Food and drink were good and the staff were friendly helpful and accomodating.
Ask for a room with a view of the harbour.
Due to its location at the harbour its seldom quiet so a good nights sleep is difficult to get.
I probably wwont choose to stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chuck1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2016

An overnight stay before catching the morning boat to Lundy Island so location was the deciding factor. No car park but parking in the quayside car park was convenient. We had booked a standard room which gave us a bit of extra room. The bed was comfortable and given the price it was good value for money.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WagglerTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Great location with the lovely sound of the sea when you wake up, get a room with a view worth it
Rooms are tired and need modernaisation, shower ok
Close to all bars and restaurants
Toilet smelt a bit, problem with drains I reckon not too bad tho
Bar staff evenings a good laugh!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulbents1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews