We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
216
331
167
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
331
167
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays free drinks shearings hotels shearings holiday self drive stair lift coach driver third floor weekend break small lift evening meal per day restaurant staff upgraded room entertainment room meal times buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this nice hotel as part of a coach holiday and we all enjoyed it and what made us welcome was the friendly staff and having a ticket for the drinks made extra special and it was close to the main shopping area too

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank clarksonfamily45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday and found the staff welcoming and friendly, I will pass your comments onto the team. As you said its a nice hotel with the added bonus of drink vouchers and being in a good location for the shops and harbour area.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is by no means 'Grand'. The public areas, especially the doors, are filthy and the walls scuffed. We asked for the doors to be cleaned as we were using tissues to avoid touching them.
Our room should never have been let out to guests as it was totally unacceptable. The bathroom was horrendous with a dirty toilet, cracked bath panel covered over by tape, which had obviously been there for some time. Even the plug chain was snapped. The room had cracked walls, paint peeling off the window frame and black condensation marks. The bath panel was replaced after complaining to the manageress about the state of the room.
The dining room is understaffed and the food leaves a lot to be desired. We ate out on several nights.
We could not believe the breakfast offered as there was no fresh fruit, no yoghurt, no tomatoes, no mushrooms. You could ask for them but by the time they arrived breakfast was over.
I do not consider this holiday to be cheap having paid almost £1,000 and really regret choosing this holiday.
The only good thing about the holiday was our coach driver, Andrew, who was fantastic and knew lots about the area.

Stayed: July 2018
3  Thank jh51671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, on this occasion I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. I will discuss your comments with the team. However regarding the public areas as you can see from other reviews the hotel isn't filthy, we are waiting for Head Office to decide on a refurbishment schedule for the hotels public areas. I am pleased to see that my colleague rectified the issues in the room for you. As you said for alternative items at breakfast a member of staff would have been happy to source these items from the kitchen for you. I will pass your positive comments onto Andy the driver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Overall this is a nice clean Hotel situated just across the road from a nice park and the Ilfracombe Museum. The quay is only a ten-minute stroll and is mercifully flat for those with mobility problems.
Our room overlooked the car park at the side of the Hotel and although not large, was nicely decorated and featured a very good walk-in shower in the adjacent room. The room was also very clean as was the entire Hotel. At night it was very quiet enabling a good nights sleep.
Our booking also included a drinks deal (4 drinks per person per night) which was brilliant value considering the price that we had paid.
The thing that was a let down for us was the food. Not very hot (the chap at the next table had to send his soup back as it was so cold) and the meagre portion sizes. (See attached photo). At the time we heard quite a few grumbles concerning the food, and clearly, this problem needs to be addressed.
Another point which needs to be mentioned is that this is an old Hotel which has a lot of character, and likewise a lot of steps internally. There are four floors but the lift only reaches three of them. We were on the third floor (Room 308) and reaching the floor we then had to descend two short flights of steps to access the corridor to our room. It would have been nigh on impossible for a wheelchair user and very difficult for the not so young. We are still pretty agile luckily and so managed with no problems. Mentioning the lift, it only takes four persons and as it is the only lift in the Hotel there can be long queues at meal times.
Apart from these hiccups, we had a good stay and managed to do a fair bit of walking as we were blessed with excellent weather.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to see that you had a good stay and found the Hotel nice and clean, including your nicely decorated room. As you said the Hotel is well situated close to local amenities. I will discuss your comments regarding the food with the chef. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We have just come back from ilfracombe with Shearings. It was a good holiday. And the hotel was good. All the Staff throughout the hotel were very nice and very helpful they always had time to speak to you asking how your day had been.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm pleased to read that you had a good holiday, and the staff were very helpful, I will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of August 2018...The Hotel was situated in the centre of town..the lovely harbour was a ten minute walk and very busy on the Saturday afternoon, which made a very happy atmosphere... The staff were friendly. Our room was an upgrade..it was a lovely room, comfortable bed and everything we needed to enjoy our stay...Food average...breakfast was Self Service, with plenty of choice...I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Upgrade to.. above a standard room...
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kathleen_meads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Deputy Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel lovely, clean and comfortable. The staff will be pleased to see that you found the friendly. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews