We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B- Highly recommended!”
Review of Epchris House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epchris House
Ranked #9 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great B&B- Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in April and had a lovely time. The rooms are lovely and all very spacious and spotless, the owners were extremely friendly and the breakfasts were great. Really good value for money!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
121
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A lovely few days away at Epchris. A family run hotel, but nothing is too much trouble. Immaculate rooms, lovely breakfast and friendly owners. What more could you ask for? Would definitely recommend to people and we are already looking to visit again!
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Needing somewhere to stay either side of a trip to Lundy, I tend to stay at the Epchris. Not only are the family great hosts, but knowing the car can be left securely for the week is a bonus. The rooms are well-presented and the standards of cleanliness are high. There is a real sense of pride. Breakfasts are simple and hearty, but suited to the clientelle and the hotel. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supplemented_single
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was our second time at Epchris House. It certainly won't be the last. The room was spotless & very well equipped. The welcome and customer service from Nicky & Rob was superb, we couldn't ask for more. The breakfast was outstanding & cooked exactly as we like it.
Epchris is situated in a quiet area & easily within walking distance to the sea.
This is a fantastic place, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We decided on impulse to take a few days break in Ilfracombe. We didn't know the area at all, but were in for a very plesant surprise. Epchris House greets its guests with a warm welcome. The service is professional, yet friendly. The room was airy, clean and comfortable, with a large, spotlessly clean ensuite housing both a bath and a shower. Breakfast was beautifully cooked - I can recommend both the kippers and the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. I would recommend this guest house to friends and family with confidence.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agj750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I spent two lovely days at Epchris House when we were touring Devon and Cornwall. Everything was good about this B&B - rooms, grounds and breakfast. Would loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheColhouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Epchris House for 3 days and we can only say what a loverly 3 days. Nicky and the family are just great and very genuine people. The room was excellent and very clean.

There is a little bar in the lounge next to the dinning room and we had a couple of drinks there on 2 of the nights. Breakfast is absolutely fantastic, all cooked fresh and excellent, we was lucky with the weather and had breakfast on the patio overlooking the gardens which are beautiful.

The Epchris is located about 10 minutes walk to the harbour and in a quiet street, the car park is a little tricky but not all the guest houses or hotels actually have a car park so no complaints.

We used to live in Devon and love to revisit, if we go back we will definitely stay at the Epchris.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieh1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
1.5 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
1.9 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
320 reviews
0.5 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
260 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epchris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epchris House

Property: Epchris House
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epchris House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epchris House is set in 1.5 acres of gardens with car parking & outdoor heated swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Epchris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epchris House Ilfracombe, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing