We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #15 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Delightful accommodation, very friendly and caring host and hostess, easy walk down to (and up from!) the harbour. The elegance of Laston House is the first impression, after Greg's hospitable welcome, the size of the rooms is the second! On the doorstep parking, not detracting from the lovely garden is another bonus! Splendid breakfast promptly served.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walsalliensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
81
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

A beautiful building in a peaceful setting looking out to sea. A three day stay made special by very welcoming hosts Greg and Abi. Our room (2) on the ground floor had dual aspect windows looking out over the grounds and out to sea could not have been more special. A good quality english breakfast with ample tea, coffee and toast made a good start to the day. Well done to both of you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This beautiful victorian mansion is in beautiful grounds and has a sea view. We had a nice modern room on the first floor with sea views. The decor is modern with a tradtional twist so it doesn't detract from the house and is very nicely done. It's easy to imagine the life the house has had over the centuries and would be perfect for period costume dramas etc. The owners were great, helpful and polite and we will definitely go there again. Breakfast was well done in an easy and informal manner. The only moan my partner had was he thought the shower was not hot enough but apparently that is being sorted and I found it ok. Apart from that this is a great place.

Room Tip: We had room 5 on the first floor which had a double bed and a sea view - no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our family spent 4 fantastic nights at Laston House. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Abi and Greg, from the moment we arrived.

Our room was a massive family room with views over the sea and Ilfracombe.

The hotel is situated in a great spot with the harbour area being a short 5 minute walk way.

Breakfasts at the hotel were superb, with the homemade pancakes being a major hit with our son and the croissants with our daughter.

Ilfracombe is a traditional seaside town with loads to do for both adults and kids. There are many bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. We would especially recommend a trip to 'The Terrace' tapas bar.

We would thoroughly recommend Laston House as the perfect hotel for spending time in Ilfracombe and North Devon.

We hope to go back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have just spent a week at Laston and found it as good as previous reviews. We arrived earlyier than expected but were greeted by Greg and Abi with a pot of tea and coffee even though they had just finished serving breakfast.
Our room (room 6)was far larger than we expected and the view of the garden and sea landscape was just superb. The place was spotless and the food spot on.
Nothing seemed too much trouble from our hosts.
Locally a visit to the Italian Restaurant Giovanni & Luca is a must.
The stay was totally enjoyable and if we are ever in Devon again this will be our place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Kenn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just returned home after a lovely weekend in Ilfracombe, and a great stay at Laston House. The owners have only been there for 6 months, but they have created a wonderfully warm and welcoming home from home. Abi and Greg made every effort to make sure that we enjoyed our stay, and from the fab little touches such as homemade brownies on arrival, to the delicious breakfast and recommendations for what to see and do locally Laston House ticked all the boxes for a great base for a holiday expoloring North Devon - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

A lovely period house which retains history within its spacious walls and gardens. Our hosts Ali and Greg did everything possible to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
The position allows the easiest walking possible for Ilfracombe to the shops, promenade, and harbour.
Take the costal path directly opposite through Hillsborough park and within 15 minutes you are looking down over the Town and can continue on to the next bay called Hele Bay.
In the other direction you walk along the Promenade past Tunnels Beach and take the costal Path to Lee plenty of seats in both directions and the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: The rooms are well proportioned with most having garden or sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.2 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.5 km away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 km away
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#5 of 53 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing