We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #16 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights, and the room was lovely and big, lovely hot showers, beautiful views over the town and seaside. And the breakfast was lovely too!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail L, Owner at Laston House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments, it was really nice to have you here and hope you will stay with us again when you visit your friends in Ilfracombe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here before Christmas for a weekend surfing North Devon. Laston House is a great looking building down a secluded little drive. Twin room was cosy. The couple who run the house are charming. We wanted to surf early so they offered to cook breakfast for us on our return closer to lunchtime. Great breakfast and touches like that make a big difference to your day. Will be first port of call for a B&B in the area going forward.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed recently for the second time at Laston House and highly recommend. Great, traditional house, well located, fairly simple but good sized rooms and awesome breakfast... but the stand out reason we'll be back is the hospitality, which is excellent. Really helpful and genuinely accommodating. Will be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Only stayed for one night but the place was clean, friendly and warm and the host and his wife were very happy to help with anything. The location was good taking 5 mins to walk to the harbour and having walked around the town quite a bit we were certainly happy with where we had elected to stay...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Friendly and helpful host - greeted with a cup of tea on arrival. Old manor house style in quiet private grounds location with off-street parking. Nice view and short downhill walk to harbour area. Clean room and shower and great breakfast. Happy to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eg214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Really enjoyed a two night Autumn Break stay at Laston House. Warm and friendly welcome. Nice location in easy reach of the harbour area. Quiet and relaxing surroundings. Our room had good sea views and looked out onto the attractive gardens which surround the house. House is at end of a long drive giving feel of seclusion.
Spacious room with lovely double bed. The owners are gradually refurbishing the rooms to put their own stamp on the place. Served a good quality breakfast in a nice breakfast room. Recommendations from the owners with regard to places for an evening meal were spot on. We had a nice Italian just back from the harbour (10 minutes walk) and the pub next door had a great atmosphere with good pub food. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at Laston House in September and feel we were misled by the excellent reviews. Laston House is beautiful and the hostess was very friendly and welcoming but an awful lot more work and tlc is required before we would rate it as any where near excellent. We stayed in an unrefurbished room, with an avocado bathroom suite, unmatched toilet seat, one small thin bath towel each, incomplete hospitality tray, overall a very 'tired' looking room. My partner's breakfast was burnt and the fruit salad looked quite unappetising. There is loads of potential to make this house stunning but would not recommend it in its present condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honey186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail L, Owner at Laston House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, since your review that room is no more! It has had a lovely refurbishment, the avocado suite has long since departed and we have a lovely new white bathroom! At the time of your review we had trouble with our linen company and have since changed to a company with much better quality towels and bedding. As to the incomplete hospitality tray we can only apologise and just wish you had mentioned it at the time so we could have rectified the missing items, and the same goes for the breakfast we can't sort things out after the event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
1.0 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
455 reviews
1.5 km away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
0.4 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
4.2 km away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $124 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, UK - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing