We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
421
79
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent warm welcome power shower helpful owner stayed for one night quiet location excellent stay comfortable room town centre fresh fruit salad very pleasant stay great shower at short notice great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 507 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2016

Hotel is in an elevated position and well away from road or other sources of noise. We stayed in Room 8 which has attractive sea views, a good en-suite bathroom, comfy bed and was very clean throughout. Building has lots of original Victorian features, but has modern creature comforts (like central heating, double glazing and an efficient shower). Owners are friendly and helpful and working hard to keep their customers happy and the building in a good state of repair and cleanliness. Breakfast featured a decent choice of menu options with cooked food being done to order so was always good and fresh when served.
Car parking was OK for our (off season) stay, but having looked around Ilfracombe it seems parking is likely to be difficult everywhere in high season. Varley House has more off-street parking than most, and a car is highly desirable given the hilly terrain on which Ilfracombe is built.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view room. No.8 was ideal for our stay
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kw24016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2016

Thank you for the lovely comments that you have made about us and Varley house.

It was nice to meet you both, and glad that we were able to help make your short break enjoyable, either side of your visit to Swindon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Varley House is not to be recommended if you suffer allergies to animal dander.
Although we had hoped for a sea-view room, we had a small room with view of back gardens, which the owner said was the only room available that night which had not had a dog in it. Despite taking tablets, my nose still twitched. On the positive side, the bed was firm enough to permit a good night's sleep and the room was quiet.

There were good points and less good points.

Good points:

The bathroom, though small, was clean and in good working order.

Breakfast was quite good.

The owner was attentive.

Less good points:

On arrival the doorbell consisted of a lollipop stick with wires attached. The name plate was in need of cleaning and repainting - an off putting start!

In the bedroom, the small tv did work, but the remote did not. The owner apologised for this as we arrived.

Location: up a steep rise, and a fair walk into town, which would be harder coming back on foot.

The car park could adequately hold two cars. After that someone would block in someone else. Not a lot of on-street parking nearby.

The furnishings seemed of a bygone era, like a guest house from the 1950s - not to everyone's taste.

Scaffolding on one side of the building indicates that some work is in progress. Perhaps in due course improvements will be made. The building has the potential to be made much more attractive to 21st century clients.

Personally I was disappointed and doubt we'd return.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2016

We are very disappointed in the comments that you have made.
Yes we are a pet friendly establishment, as is clearly stated on a all websites, but the room that you were put in for the 1 night, is not used for guest's with dogs. So the only thing i can think is that you picked this up from elsewhere.
Yes we are on a hill but as we say to a number of our guest's if you do not fancy climbing back up to our establishment, then the prices of taxi around here are very good.
Re the parking, yes you can block other cars in, but that is not normally a problem if we aware of your concern, but there is plenty of on street parking with no restrictions.
Re the furnishings, yes some of our furniture is deliberately antique, to complement the rooms, but all the bathrooms have been refurbished & modernised with power showers etc.
Scaffolding was only up for a week to do some gutter changing, re-pointing and painting, and not anywhere near the room that you was accomodated in.
There are a few minor things to be done like the sign, but we have uncovered an original tiled floor to enhance the splendour of the building, and this is all part of the attraction, and not the faceless chains that all have rooms that are the same
Sorry once again if you were disappointed, but i would say if I had this much allergy to pet hair, I would not have booked a pet friendly accommodation, the same as i would not frequent a smoking establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Warm welcome and large warm room ! This BandB was very convenient for walking down and catching the ferry -and not even too far to walk back ! We were also able to leave our car with them -which was also a bonus . The breakfasts were excellent and we enjoyed our stay .

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gillians539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016

Thank you for the lovely comments that you have made about us and Varley House.

We are glad that we were able to be part of your break to Lundy Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2016

We stayed in room 8 and were treated to a beautiful sea view through the bay windows in the large double bedroom. The guest house style hotel was located on a very quiet road, which meant we slept well. The room was very accommodating, with a comfy bed and coffee table and chairs. The en-suite was modern and clean. There were lots of added extras - tea, coffee, biscuits, sweets and chocolate mints on the pillows. The breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh fruit salad. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly, giving us tips on the best places to visit and eat. We easily parked our car on a residential road and didn't need to move it, as it is a reasonably short, pleasant walk into the town centre. We thought it was very good value for money. We would throughly recommend it and if we visited Ilfracombe again we would definitely want to stay at Varley House again. Thank you for making our short break away so enjoyable.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank cornishsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016

Thank you for the lovely comments that you have made about us and Varley House.

we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for the bank holiday weekend, and would love to see you again if ever you came back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Excellent friendly service. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished with every attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend it for anyone wanting to explore the Devon coast or travelling to Lundy.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank althea_e_mackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016

Thank you for the nice comments about Varley House.

we are glad to be part of your short break on Lundy Island, and that we were able to accommodate on your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews