We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
421
79
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent warm welcome power shower helpful owner stayed for one night quiet location excellent stay comfortable room town centre fresh fruit salad very pleasant stay great shower at short notice great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 507 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely two night stay at Varley House. Was made to feel very welcome. Rod the owner was friendly and very helpful with great local knowledge. Breakfast was excellent and the room was big, clean and had lovely sea views. Will definitely return next time we visit Ilfracombe

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Thank you for the lovely comments about Varley house.

It was good to meet you and glad that we were able to help you enjoy your short stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2016

This came highly recommended by fellow visitors to lundy Island & we wanted somewhere nice to stay before driving back to Sussex. We were warmly greeted by the owner and shown to our room which was wonderful, nicely decorated & a Four Poster bed. There were evne mints on the pillows and ample tea & coffee making. I had the best nights sleep of the holiday. The breakfast in the morning did not dissappoint, with many choices from a light breakfast to a wonderful full English.

Room tip: All rooms are good.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carrielevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Thank you for your glowing report on us and Varley House.

we are glad that we were able to make your one night an enjoyable one, and that you got back to Sussex refreshed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016

A very friendly welcome and enjoyable breakfast before our trip to Lundy. We were able to leave our car there for the week which saved money but on our return we were unable to get a taxi back to collect it. A long walk uphill after a rough boat trip

Room tip: Don't book the room by the front door which I understand is for disabled guests. It is small!. However this is the one we were given.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank oldjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Thank you for your nice comments about Varley House.

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Lundy Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016

I stayed at Varley House for three nights in mid-September. I found it very welcoming, clean, comfortable, quiet and relaxing: everything I look for in a guest house. The breakfasts are perfect especially if you intend a day exploring the steep streets of Ilfracombe. I particularly liked the guest lounge for reading in but I seemed to be the only guest using it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to any single traveler, or couple who don't mind being slightly out and above the town and harbour.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments about Varley House.

Sorry that you were the only guest at the time using the lounge, as this week a number of guest's have been using it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Regrettably we only had time for one night in Ilfracombe at this nice B & B. We had a large room at the front of the property with a big bay window giving views (over the top of the houses across the street) of the sea and countryside. Varley House is a substantial property built with large rooms and high ceilings, the room we were in was it's original size, i.e. it wasn't carved out of a larger room and the ensuite bathroom similarly was it's own separate room. The room was light and airy with chocolates on the pillows and a complimentary bowl of candies! Bed was comfy.

The owner was very likable and informative, we initially parked on the street but there was a few on-site parking spots available. Walk into town was about 10-15 minutes down a steep hill, we elected to get a taxi back which cost three pounds thirty pence. Of all the B & Bs we stayed at during our trip this was the one we liked the most.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catsailor32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful comments that you have made about Varley House.

we are glad that we were able to make a little part of your stay here in England enjoyable, and hope the rest of your tour went well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews