We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
421
79
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent warm welcome power shower helpful owner quiet location stayed for one night excellent stay comfortable room fresh fruit salad town centre great shower at short notice great place to stay kippers
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 507 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We loved this place! The decor is very traditional which framed our English seaside visit perfectly. Everything was spotlessly clean, and host Rod provided a wonderful, friendly welcome. Our room was sweet, with a sea view, comfortable beds and a nice, new en suite. Breakfast was the pièce de résistance with enough food to keep us full for the day and set us up for some hill-climbing (Rod is a trained chef) and was gluten- and dairy-free to cater for my archaic tummy. Honestly, the place felt like home with us coming and going as we pleased. Rod was available to pour us a very large glass of wine at the end of the day if we liked which rounded the stay off nicely. Highly recommended if you're after a friendly, homely stay with a great breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

It was great to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Remember if you stay with us against book direct as you get the best rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Stayed here either side of a three day trip to Lundy Island. Convenient pleasant stay. Nice location with a good local pub for food. Nice braekfast. But why must the review be 200 words, when the count is in characters with a 200 minimum???

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patdoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Thank you for your response of Varley House

It was good to meet you and glad that we were able to help in some small way for your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Varley House is set on top of a hill overlooking the harbour, so the views are lovely. Rod, our host, was friendly and welcoming (and as a trained chef, was able to cope with our coeliac and dairy free requirements brilliantly). Everything was spotlessly clean, our beds were amazingly comfortable and we had all that we needed for a very enjoyable stay. Even to the point where we actually had a full sized mirror within reach of our hairdryer flex! How often can you say THAT about a B&B?!

The breakfast was so generous that we didn't need to eat until mid-afternoon on either day of our stay. The bar stocked some very nice wine, we had a balcony to sit on and watch the sun go down, and the walk up the hill (through some pretty short-cuts which Rod helpfully pointed out) meant our fish-n-chips were guilt free.

I heartily recommend this place, and will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuzyQ108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for your glowing review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you both, and that we were able to accommodate your dietary requirements.

If you do come back again, remember to book direct to get the best prices, instead of through booking.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

This B&B is like a small familiar hotell with a very friendly and service minded host. We had a very nice room with a view over the hills and the sea. The location is on the hills on the outskirts of the village, but it is a quick walk to get to the harbor via a shortcut. The Walk is nice with views but on the way home you have to stop at some nice bar and have a rest. We had as well a nice breakfast and we recommend this place. It's good value for the money.

Room tip: Book a double Ensuite with Seaview
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatsStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for your review of Varley house

It was good to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Excellent location with easy parking. No hassle finding with Google maps. Room was Lovely and comfortable. The view from bed of the hills and ocean were delightful. A very quick walk into the town and harbour. Excellent service and delicious breakfast!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you both all the way from Tasmania, and glad you enjoyed your 1 night with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews