We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, but stuck in a timewarp” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but stuck in a timewarp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Grov whilst attending a friend's wedding at The Tunnels.

The hotel has no real parking (much like others nearby), there is however lots of parking a short walk away down one of the residential streets by the Lidl's.

The owner was friendly and the feel of the place felt overall as very welcoming. We were in 246 which we couldn't really find using their rather odd numbering system and the hallways were pretty tight if you had lots of luggage. The decor in the rooms and main entertainment and breakfast areas was really dated. A strange mix of yellow and green that just looks really old and 70's-ish.

The rooms were fine although the window was open when we arrived (it was proper cold outside) and the heating wasn't on (prob operated centrally downstairs). So we were really cold in the night and the rather clinical extra blankets weren't very good. The lampshades were ripped but other than that the bedroom was fine.

We made sure having read some of the reviews that we had a shower in the room as 30% of the rooms only come with a bath! Very odd in this day and age and not great. Some of our friend's forgot to do this so we had a steady stream of guests using our bathroom. They didn't give any complimentary tolietries and the shower was a little weak also.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we arrived after 7 but I did have a quick pint there. To be honest it is not a classy enough or entertaining enough bar area to charge £5.80 for a pint of local cider and half a diet coke, come on guys, budget hotel = fair price for a round, surely. We had breakfast there one morning and it was a cooked english fry up, not usually too critical of fry ups but the portions were pretty small and quality below par.

the 'entertainment' was about to start and we didn't want to encroach on the grannies dancing so we moved on to another bar/restaurant.

Overall if you are looking for a quick break (2 nights max) that is cheap and protects you from the rain then this isn't likely to be the worst place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kid_a18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    138
    121
    86
    76
See reviews for
41
295
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We bought this deal from Groupon for a two night stay. It was not the best. Hotel was very dated and extremely tired. Bedroom was 1980s melamine furniture, threadbare carpets and worn curtains. The sash window was wedged with paper. The shower was mouldy and not very clean. The 'dinner deal' was disappointing. The food catered to the coach trip crowd and there were a lot of these. When we complained to Groupon they said they would be taking the hotel off of their offers but surprise surprise a few months later and it is back. I hope you have a better experience than we did!

T & K McSweeney
Oxford

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Booked two nights with DealCloud, good offer, you get what you pay for. The place is three houses knocked into one building. The room was nothing special, whole place in need of refurb. Shower in the room stopped working, needed to hit it a bit to get it going again. Breakfast was OK, although the second day seemed understaffed as had to wait a long time to get served. The staff where lovely, but unfortunately let down by everything else. There isn't really parking, the hotel car park holds only a few cars. They offer the street parking which is free from 6pm-10am. Opposite the hotel and around the back of those buildings seems to be free, no signs showing a time limit that we could see.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKGirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Booked a double room for two nights and paid extra for an ungrade !
A few days Prior to arrival sent a e mail to hotel asking for a quiet room and aslo enquiring about hotel entertainment. We recieved no reply.
Arrived on a Saturday afternoon 24 March . Checked in by Raynor one of the owners.
I asked if our room had a shower and he said yes we were lucky. I advised him i had read reviews and some people unhappy with just a bath. His reply was he never reads the reviews. ( maybe he should )
We were given room 156 . This 2was found by going up a steep set of stairs , down another , up another and then down another . If you have mobility issues forget this hotel .Eventually found our room on the ground floor at the left side of hotel as you face it . A nearby street adjacent. Just outside our room was a flimsy fire door which opened directly ontop the street. We had the key to this door so used this instead of front and trying to tackle the stairs.
The room was dated very small ( think the bed may of been smaller than average double)
.The bed had sheets and blankets and was very hard as were the pillows Towels had seen better days.Small tv and tea/ coffee making facilities. Bathroom had a shower which was very small.
Major problem with this room apart from the size was the noise.On times you would think we had visitors in the room the voices were so loud and the noise from room above.

We had booked a four course dinner on the saturday night but changed this to the SUN Instead. However we did return later in the eve to sample the entertainment. Shouldnt of bothered it was dire !!! Las Vegas night. You had to be over 75 to join in .

Breakfast was ok on both mornings but please do not book Dinner in this hotel.
Sun eve dinner was fruit jiuce or soup , beef dinner or plain omellette ,pudding ice cream or sherry trifle followed by coffee. It was very poor. The soup so thin you could see the bottom of the bowl and this was served with half a slice of white bread. The trifle was dreafull and coffee served with cartons of uht milk.

The dressing table stool in our room had a big burn in it , not attractive.

Car parking was down a lane opposite and big enough for five cars only.

Ilfracombe is a town which is struggeling .Full of litter , dog poo and undesireable young people shouting and scraeming at each other.

We were forty years too late .

Do not recommend this hotel or Ilfracombe sadly :(

Room Tip: Do not choose one here !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank location125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

very good hotel nice food staff are great the only thing wrong with this hotel is there was a big spider in my room

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I turned up at the hotel at 12:07am 7 minutes after I should of and I was locked out!! I had driven from London for 5 hours after work to get here! I then rang the bell several times I call the main reception several times I could hear the phone ringing in the hotel and no one had picked up. I then started to knock on the door several times and still no one answered. I then had a police officer pull up by me and thought I was breaking in!!!! I was nearly arrested but then the police officer was kind enough to try and help after realizing what had happened. He started banging on the door and calling...... no response still. I then had to go with the officer to other hotels locally and book into another hotel 25 miles away. I was livid! I went the next day to resolve this and he said point blank I am sorry but there is nothing we can do. NO REFUND NOTHING!!!! What hotel gives you a curfew at 11:15pm and locks you out?? They actually had a sign on the door saying this!!!!

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank MoroccoMole_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

After reading the previous reviews we were a bit unsure what to expect. On booking we decided to pay an extra £20 for an upgraded room .Yes the hotel is traditional none of your boutique upgrades here, but our room had tea making facilities, and a hairdryer. The sheets were clean and the double bed was comfortable,we also did had a large shower too. We easily found the 6 bayed car park after dropping off our suitcases at reception we drove down a driveway opposite straight to them. We managed to get a space easily each day. We found the staff very friendly, helpful and hardworking. We only had breakfast during our stay, I didn't want to have a full English they accommodated my choice of scrambled eggs with mushrooms on toast on the first day and beans and poached egg on toast on the following day .Both were hot and delicious. OK it's not the Ritz, but we had a pleasant stay, it was value for money, it was in walking distance to the harbour and to the shops and if we came back to Ilfracombe we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrendaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 km away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.5 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing