We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”
Review of Trefloyne Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trefloyne Manor
Ranked #5 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Extremely Clean rooms. Great service. Cooking staff went out of their way to make sure that our meals were extra special. All meals including breakfast were excellent. Fresh breads and croissants were freshly baked.

Room Tip: Stayed during a heat wave. So needed a fan to sleep comfortably in our Loft. Most hotels and B&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vaught2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

We enjoyed a family holiday at Trefloyne Manor in their self catering accommodation named The Loft.
We enjoyed the accommodation and the beautiful surroundings and views! The Loft was just what we needed for the whole family - 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a lovely open plan kitchen/dining/living area.
The accommodation was clean and tidy and set in a beautiful location and it was great to have the hotel on the doorstep too - we popped over and enjoyed a drink in the bar on a few occasions! It was also nice to have the golf course on the doorstep (quite literally) - my Brother enjoyed a couple of rounds on some of the beautiful evenings we had during our stay. A great place to stay for our holiday and a great base to go out and about an explore.
The accommodation had everything you could need, except we could not find any oven gloves (which was a bit annoying as some of the family stayed in some nights as we had a little one and cooked - we managed and used a tea towel). We also found that the curtains in the bedrooms let a lot of light in and with the little one (18 months) made them struggle to go to sleep and made them wake up very early (4.30am) most mornings as they are used to thicker curtains. We thought as it stated when we booked that it was child friendly that this would be valuable feedback. We would have left this feedback but there was no book in the accommodation to leave reviews or feedback.
Overall the stay was excellent and we would certainly recommend!

Room Tip: Self Catering The Loft (sleeps 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 141jeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend in this beautifully situated country hotel.
All the rooms offer quality accommodation and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.
Excellent breakfast and a well stocked bar.
Would return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 777charnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

A wonderful stay in a beautiful setting,lovely room, spotless, nothing too much trouble for the friendly staff. Food excellent, nice freshly cooked breakfast, evening meal delicious. All in all fantastic, will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

WOW after reading the previous review I feel as if I have just returned from a different hotel as everything we en-counted over the last two days was completely the opposite to the one below and we can do nothing but praise the staff and their happy friendly professionalism, I just wish I was into golf and I would have a better excuse to visit more often.

Booked a room and suite with friends for two nights and both were spacious and stylish, location is great for visiting Tenby (5 mins by car) We spent a lovely evening on the first night in the restaurant, the food was gorgeous whilst all the staff we met were very attentive without being intrusive, two of us had the Fish pie and after reading a previous review I assume the Chef is back on track as ours was Excellent with large chunks of fish and prawns.

Breakfast is outstanding again served by happy friendly staff, it defiantly has the feel of a happy family business. 

It was quite an expensive weekend away but you get what you pay for and we would happily return especially if their are ever any online deals.

Room Tip: Suite is great for sharing time with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

The location of the hotel and the room we were given were fabulous and we congratulate you on that. Our dining experience however was a comedy of errors and bad service.

It was a very quiet night, hardly anyone in the dining room. We were shown to our table. The glass table was very dirty. Perhaps 15-20 ring marks from a glass at each of out table settings.

We had asked the waiter to bring a glass of pre-selected Merlot to the table with our mains. It didn't arrive and we had to request it after 15 minutes of trying to get the waiter to notice us. A few minutes later the water returned with a glass of white wine. My partner said not to worry she would have it.

I had ordered Parwns with chilli, garlic and lemon starter. What turned up was a small pan with a few prawns in lemon water - no chilli, no garlic, no butter just lemon water. Despite trying to catch his attention, the waiter didn't come near us for 20 mins by which time I had decided to eat the tiny amount of prawns I had been served. I told the waiter about the starter. No apology but he said he would mention it to the chef. When he came back, he made no mention of the starter or what the chef had said. No apology from the chef or waiter for prawns in lemon water. A simple "sorry about that" from the waiter would have been nice. We really should not have been charged for this dish but we were.

My partner had a starter of mushroom and peppers, it came swimming in oil, tasteless and desperately needed seasoning and flavor.

My steak was very poor. I requested medium to well done, it came as well done as steak could be. It had a nasty texture unlike any stake I had ever eaten before, it was more like venison. It was unseasoned and the only taste it had was of liver - really disappointing.
Chips were mostly hollow in the centre, very hard on the outside and full of oil instead of fluffy potato.

Pudding was baileys brioche with ice cream

Arrived red hot steaming like nothing I had ever seen before, an inch high piece of rubber. Incredibly dense like a Yorkshire pudding batter that had not risen. The chef had clearly tried to make a "brioche" in the microwave and had failed dismally. Ridiculously hot. My partner picked through the top layer and I tried some myself. We agreed, there was not a hint of baileys in it.

The waiter knew there had been issues with our meals but no mention of a reduction because of poor service and food was mentioned. There seemed little point complaining further as our earlier comments had been completely ignored so we paid in full.

The waiter did comment that the chef was racing round like a mad man so by your own staff's admission he was clearly out of his depth on a night when there were around 10-12 people in a very large dining room.

We overheard a lady at another table stating that ingredients were missed from her food too.

Breakfast

We were first down for breakfast and the only people there during our service so the staff and chef were able to give us their full attention. My partner asked if it would be possible to have grilled mushrooms. Breakfast was served promptly, too promptly if you know what I mean. My partners plate had fried mushrooms on it and the lady serving made no mention of her request.
I think it would have been more professional to just mention that it was beyond the
chefs ability to prepare a grilled mushrooms then ask if my partner wanted the oily mushrooms rather than just bring them and make no comment - very unprofessional.

The bacon was rock hard even though we were first down for breakfast, just as breakfast service had started - see the photo. Completely unacceptable. I believe the bacon, sausage, mushrooms and black pudding had all been deep fried - if not, the cooking process they had undergone rendered them with a texture and taste as if they had been deep fried. You can't do that with bacon. Perhaps it hadn't been deep fried but if you can imagine what deep fried bacon would be like, that was what we were served.

Your front of house staff need more training in customer service. You don't completely ignore customer requests for adjustment to dishes and you don't ignore the fact that dishes have been prepared incorrectly and badly and ingredients missed.

Whoever was chef during our stay needs a few more years training under the wings of someone who knows what they are doing. He really hasn't a clue.

Checking out

When we checked out £72 extra was added to our bill which was a little worrying.

I dread to think what would happen if this food were served at a wedding.

I do hope the management will show their professionalism, take this on the chin and not dry to discredit what we have said here.

What we have said is a very fair and accurate reflection of the food and service we received and we have made a point of not embellishing it in any way. In fact I've pulled a few punches.

We would stay there again because the room and location were lovely but we wouldn't have breakfast again as we like a good full English. Obviously we would never dine in the restaurant again.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShrewsburyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoT2342RL, General Manager at Trefloyne Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Wow!! We are at a loss as to how we answer you.. There are some comments we simply cannot understand, for example you mention glass tables in the Orangery which we don't have and we have not served pans for some months, as regards our staff I again do not understand your criticism as we have nothing but positive feedback from our guests. As for deep frying breakfast I can assure you breakfast is cooked freshly every morning and again amazing comments from our many guests.

However please let us know the dates you stayed with us then we will get the team together and try to solve the mystery of all these issue you seem to have.

Contact Tom via email or on 01834 842165

J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Trefloyne is situated just outside of Tenby.
It sits on a lovely manicured golf course.
It hosts rooms for guests and lodges for rental within the woodlands.
I arrived during a very quiet Monday evening for two nights.
On arrival I was checked in and shown to my lovely room.
The rooms are all named and it feels a lot more personal that a boring number. My room was named 'Linen' and it commanded a beautiful view over the golf course through a stunning Juliet balcony door.

The rooms are well equipped and furnished. Iron and board are available on request. In room tea tray included as normal. Fresh milk available on request.

I was well looked after. All my need catered for even though the first night I was the only guest the breakfast buffet was laid out and service was as normal despite the lack of occupancy.
Breakfast is continental with a hot full Welsh breakfast which was very tasty.

Evening meals are a delight with a huge range of fish and shell fish options. Please see my pictures for menu available during my stay.

The only concern I have is that they are not catering directly for the corporate guest. There was slight confusion about billing back to my company so instead I paid directly not to cause undue panic. Also some mornings the chef did not turn up until after I needed to depart so I could only have continental breakfast. Fortunately this suited me that occasion. Don't let this out you off your visit.

Verdict, a hidden Tenby gem in close proximity to Haverfordwest and fast roads to Carmarthen and Swansea. Make it one to try!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank welsh105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
2.6 km away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
685 reviews
1.8 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
746 reviews
1.8 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
488 reviews
2.7 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
466 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefloyne Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefloyne Manor

Address: Trefloyne Lane | Trefloyne Golf Club, Tenby SA70 7RG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: $156 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trefloyne Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trefloyne Manor is nestled in the heart of the Pembrokeshire countryside just outside of the beatiful walled town of Tenby. 12 individually designed bedrooms, a beautiful orangery restaurant, sundrenched terraces, 18 hole golf course and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Trefloyne Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trefloyne Manor Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing