We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giltar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
408
183
62
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
408
183
62
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrefurbished roomsea viewdeluxe roomswedding partycaldey islandroll top bathdownstairs barsunday lunchpremier roomsouth beachhigh standardsea frontlovely hotelwalk in showercar parklady on receptionfabulous views
Filter
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 690 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We managed to be able to take advantage of last wekends Ocober heatwave and headed down to Tenby so did no research hotels before going down. The Giltar Hotel looks fab from the outside someone has certainly taken great trouble with the garden and planters at the front of the hotel. They only had one room left a standard Double so this is what we took.It had wonderful views of this magnificent coastline . The bed was very comfortable indeed and a nice little shower room all we needed really .This is one of the split bedrooms where the big room is divided into 2 so you effectivly share the double bay window but this was fine . It was extememly clean with nice crisp white duvet covers.

The service was especially pleasing, with the staff treating you like an old friend.
The breakfast was full English breakfast, served to you by a waiter/waitress and a help yourself buffet of cereal,fruit.juices and pastries.
This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything and wonderful views of the ocean.
If you want one of the refurbed rooms make sure you confirm at booking.But i was quite happy with the standard room as we came for the beach and only slept here .But it was lovely to see the sea when we woke and to hear the waves as we slept.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a refurbed /bigger room make sure you confirm it at booking stage.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tt5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We thought the rooms decor was a little tatty ( for the want of a better word!) However on saying that it was clean and tidy.The bed extremly comfortable. We understand that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment so will be interesting to see the results.The staff were helpful and friendly. The meals were average, but well cooked and hot and served prompt. I would recommend this hotel if you want small friendly place that is not pretentious. I would return if i decide to come back to Tenby

Room Tip: the rooms on the lower floors i understand have been refurbished. The top floor rooms have windows that rattle somewhat! If you dont like something there, dont be afrad to say i thought the staff were very open and keen to help
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We visited this hotel on an Alfa coach holiday. we were very pleased with our "standard" room I have stayed in ones a lot less comfortable and clean in other hotels that were suposed to be superior rooms. The television was able to receive All the Freeview TV and radio channels.
The views from our room were superb. The highlight of the week for us was the Tuesday evening concert by the famous Tenby Male Voice Choir.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room 214 is excellent with dual aspect
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Ocean Views on a cliff-side location with wonderful views across to the Monastic Island of Caldy.

Boat Trips to and around the Island from April to end of September.


Easy to walk to Local Pubs and restaurants through The castle gates..

STEEP WALK DOWN TO THE MAIN BEACH MAY MEAN DIFFICULTIES FOR DISABLED.

Room Tip: The beach is a long slope down but well worth the walk down.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2011

me and my wife were looking at getting married in tenby, we travelled down over a year ago and met malcolm, from that moment we knew that the giltar hotel would be where we got married, the hotel did not disappoint!!! we got married on 27th august and had the most amazing day i could not have asked for more!!.. the staff run like clockwork at the hotel, very effecient and clearly show a love for the hotel.. malcolm was exceptional from the off set, made sure everything went to plan. the food was served to a high standard and left people very happy and satisfied. on arrival we had a teddy bear that had our names and the date we got married, such personal touches go a long way. thank you all staff at the giltar hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews