We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Having stayed at this hotel recently for a family reunion, I can honestly say that the rooms were lovely and cosy. We had a sea view overlooking Caldy island, which was stunning. The welcome and friendly staff were second to none.
The evening meal that was provided for our large party was fantastic. We could not have wished for a better setting to celebrate my Dads 90 birthday. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    155
    53
    22
    14
See reviews for
116
285
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I travelled with two other couples for a new year break by coach with Alfa Travel.
All the staff, from owners to waiting and cleaning staff were excellent and friendly.
We all had rooms which had still to be refurbished, (The hotel is part way through a major refurbishment of the bedrooms) but they were still clean and comfortable. The location was perfect, even if the weather was a bit damp even for the 1st January. The thing which really stood out was the quality and presentation of all the food. It was way beyond anything we were expecting from a three star hotel. We could not have complained if the catering was being advertised as five star. To put my money where my mouth is (it's the food again!) we are booking to go back for next New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room itself was one of their older rooms without the seaview. The room was perfectly clean and everything worked as it should. We got a good nights sleep.

They could do with fixing the dodgy pool table in the bar so that the poor old bar staff dont have to keep apologising and getting the balls out manually... Drinks at the bar were very cheap.

Parking is quite limited and we had to park on the street about 200 metres away. This isn't really a problem and the streets around are low in traffic and seem quite safe and finding a spare parking space took about 5 minutes and there is no money grabbing pay and display there - which helps.

Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W-Mark**
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Good hotel. Clean room. Good food. Room was a bit small for a double (and for a sea view). Nice hotel but i expected to get more for my money. Good location though.

Room Tip: When booking a sea view ask staff how large the windows facing the sea are (only one out of two of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostcymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had a Wonderful couple of days staying at the very friendly Giltar Hotel, We are so looking forward to our Wedding here next year and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to stay in Tenby.

Room Tip: Always Ask for the refurbished rooms, they are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stay in Tenby twice every year and we decided that this was the perfect setting for our wedding. We are a couple in our early 30's and as we live in North Wales this was a long distance wedding all arranged by phone calls, email and one visit. After searching for the perfect hotel for our special day we decided after viewing the Giltar Hotel Tenby, only over the internet, that this was the hotel that stood out from the rest. We spoke to Malcom and Patrick about the distance we lived away, and they were very very helpful, and put us at instant ease. We chose our package and supplied Malcom with a swatch of our bridesmaids dress for the colour scheme. Appart from this we new nothing about our wedding all details were left to Malcom and Patrick. The communication from the hotel was absolutly perfect. This was a big thing for a bride to do it was like an episode of dont tell the bride but the groom new nothing either. Our wedding day was absolutly flawless and stress free, we cannot thank them enough, our guests, which travelled up with us and also stayed at the hotel could not praise the hotel or wedding enough and the food was to die for. All the children were made to feel at home and were all treated brilliantly. All rooms hired were exceptional and everyone left very relaxed, happy and wanted to definatly go return to the Giltar. Good luck to all getting your stars you more than deserve them. See you all again next year for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional but sea view rooms have the most amazing views ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TenbyBride2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had a great weekend at the Tenby Blues Festival and stayed at the Giltar Hotel which was excellent. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent and the staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suellanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.2 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#9 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#13 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing