We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday Rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holiday House

Welcome to our home- we would love you to come and stay with us
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to our home- we would love you to come and stay with us
Hall Way
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Welcome to our home- we would love you to come and stay with us
Hall Way
Front lounge
Kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
hall and stairs
hallway
Front Double Bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Southport, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison L
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Rental”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from our week in Southport staying in Chester Road - what a great base for our holiday. The house was large and spacious which was great considering there was four of us and the dog ranging in age from 90 downwards, plenty of rooms for us to do our own things. The house is very retro in decor but very clean and comfortable. It is just a few minutes drive into the town centre where there is plenty to do shopping or walking along the pier(a bus route was just a short walk away from the house). Plenty of other activities in the Southport area to keep everyone amused. Large enclosed garden was a bonus for Hamish the Westie! Over all everyone said they would like to return to the area and would be happy to stay in this house again. Off road parking was a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house size and location
Liked least: some of the kitchen utensils could do with being updated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHRoadWar...
New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great house”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

House was just what we wanted - plenty of room and a great base for visiting friends and local sights. Owners were very pleasant to deal with - thank you!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny B
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday Base”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

3 generations of our family spent a weeks holiday here in April. Lovely and clean. Very spacious with all that was needed in the kitchen. The teccies amongst us appreciated the free wifi! Seating in the lounge, and the beds were very comfortable.
1.5 miles into the centre of Southport, so there were times when a couple of us walked there. Definitely in a good spot without being in the town centre!
The only thing lacking was a bit of info for visitors such as the nearest shops, pharmacy, doctor and hospital. Maybe bus info if guests want to leave the car behind in an evening.
This did not deter from a great holiday in 'Holiday House'. We would definitely recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property and location
Liked least: Lack of visitor info
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen F
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfy and warm”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here for Christmas with family coming for Christmas dinner. We were very comfortable and warm. Everything provided in the house. House was larger than we thought so plenty of room for all without feeling overcrowded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the house was so warm, especially when we went in December.
Liked least: No bad points.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mordo
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent- don't know whta the problem is with the beds!”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend and house is really spacious and clean. Beds are comfortable and well presented. Certainly will stay again and owners lovely people who could not do enough for us

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is large and spacious
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessdyer2...
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Holiday House in Southport during our visit to the greater Liverpool area. This was a perfect location to visit family in Formby and catch a game at Anfield. The house was impeccably clean and well equipped. We appreciated the amenities for our infant daughter as well, as the owner provided a travel cot and high chair. The house is within walking distance to the train station, which made getting into Liverpool a breeze. Just a short walk to the grocery store as well. Our only complaint was that the double beds were very hard and uncomfortable. So much, in fact, that my husband refused to sleep on them, and used a single bed instead. Felt like you were sleeping on the floor. Otherwise, the accommodations were wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private yard and the proximity to shops and the train station.
Liked least: The beds were horribly uncomfortable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggerkat...
england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed for visiting our large extended family”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This rental exceeded our expectations. We found it to be perfectly equipped and it suited our needs. We wanted to stay in this area because we have a large extended family living within 30 minutes walk, which meant that we didn't have to rely upon the car to get around. There was a large family gathering over the weekend we stayed so the house was an excellent base. The kitchen was especially important as I had to finish a special birthday cake. Overall we would happily return here the next time we are visiting family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sunny patio area in a secure back garden which our dog loved
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing