We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
259
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
9
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul trina helpful couple small hotel lord street golf tour chocolate biscuits perfect hosts from arrival to departure within easy walking distance relaxing stay off street parking visiting southport fantastic hotel southport flower show excellent stay tea and coffee making facilities town centre
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 270 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed in Southport many times over the last decade. Each time we have walked past The Waterford Hotel we have always remarked how nice it looked and what great views it must have. This year we decided to give it a try ( actually it was my birthday and my wife was treating me!) The hotel is very welcoming, as are the hosts. It's a charming building, decorated in warm colours and immaculately clean.
We stayed in a second floor 'lake view' room with probably the biggest and most comfortable bed ever. The view from the window was great, especially as the weather was glorious. The hotel has off-road parking which is a real bonus considering it's prime location.
It was quite depressing to leave at the end of our stay, but after a lovely breakfast and a chat with the equally lovely hosts we were on our way.... certain to return!
The Waterford may be a little more expensive than some other places, but when you consider it's quality, location and views, you'd be mad not to give it a try ... We loved it!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandtrina, Owner at Waterford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you for you review and delighted that you finally decided to give us a try.
We are so pleased that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed you stay with us.
Hopefully we now have another convert and look forward to your future visits.

Best wishes

Paul and Trina



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

Just back from another excellent stay with Trina and Paul, proprietors of our most favourite B&B.
To ensure we reserve our weekend stays we book from AUSTRALIA in January for a visit in August. Many guests book as they leave.

Staying at the Waterford is just perfect, from the size of the rooms. The beds are "dressed" to a very high standard, the bathrooms have again every thing ....with every comfort that some five star hotels could learn from.

We look forward to the breakfasts, the fruit platter is a work of art, followed by a traditional Big English.

We are reluctant to write this review‼️ incase they are fully booked up.

See you again soon Waterford ~ Southport. As always Kindest fond regards.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank seeksinterlude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandtrina, Owner at Waterford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thanks for the review.

We always look for ward to catching up with where you have been and what you have been doing. Flower show wouldn't have been the same without you. We hope the new kitchen goes to plan.

Hope to see you soon

Trina and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Paul and Trina serve up a fantastic stay. Hotel is exceptionally clean and the rooms are very well equiped with some nice touches to make the stay even more special.
Paul and Trina are a very welcoming couple and make you feel at ease as soon as you arrive. Breakfast is the best my wife and I have had in the 15 years we have been staying in Southport. My wife and I have stayed at a few Hotels/B&B's and I can without question say this is the best.

Room tip: Front of Hotel offers views of the Marina.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandtrina, Owner at Waterford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you for your review and very flattering comments

We are sorry if we overlooked your birthday, maybe next year we could make amends.

Please accept our belated birthday wishes.

Paul and Trina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

Single traveller. Lovely big comfy bed. Room spotless.no noise .lovely cotton sheets. Bathrooms spotless. Can't fault it. Been 3 times now. Hosts are very welcoming. Breakfast relaxing and plentiful and tasty

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dianidunkioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandtrina, Owner at Waterford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you for your review.

It was great to meet you again and reassuring that we are managing to maintain our standards . We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Kind regards

Paul and Trina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

My husband and I have just returned from a four day stay at the Waterford Hotel in Southport, and what a gem. Very clean and beautifully decorated with an amazing selection for breakfast.
It was nice to see Paul serving breakfasts in a professional manner eg white shirt and tie each morning.
Paul and Trina go out of there way to make your stay special, and nothing was to much trouble.

Room tip: All the rooms are fantastic, and beautifullydecorated
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jarvos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandtrina, Owner at Waterford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you for your review

We are pleased that you approve of our traditional way of doing things and that you enjoyed the selection of items on the breakfast menu.
It was lovely to meet you and look forward to meeting you both again.

Best wishes Trina and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews