We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
89
138
115
80
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
138
115
80
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini kitchen the ground floor budget hotel jacuzzi bath full english town centre short break pier
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 539 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

So Mother B went to New York with Sister B and I got a weekend In Southport it’s ok I don’t like planes ✈️

We arrived a bit early but the lovely lady checked us in. Also got me a hairdryer. There were always spaces in the car park whilst we were there but we came on the train

You check in at reception and I noted the bar was on the right. We were then directed to outside and the entrance to get to our room. The room had a view of the promenade, carousel and gardens where Mr B proposed when we were students . The room was big, twins beds (the posh New York hotel gave mother and sister a double). The bathroom was small but the shower was a good pressure. Mother B likes a bath but she coped. Mother was so excited at the kitchenette. Never seen one before. Was fascinated by the tiny bottle of fairy ‍♂️ loved the fridge (our wine did too). Mother was wanting to stay all week.

The hotel was clean and didn’t get too hot. The bar across the road has a singer on constantly during the day but I liked it and guess it only on summer days. The only issue was the toilet wasn’t the best flusher

We love Southport and although it was a hot day we went to see Jurassic World and a Michael Jackson tribute at the Hungry Monk. Good value restaurant which I’ve done a review on before. Only problem this time was there was a crazy man in the ladies toilet he was thrown out.

Really nice hotel. Mother B is going to bring Father B sometime

She liked it more than the snobby New York one. Winning.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Beckston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

So I stayed here the night before my wedding day and could not of found a more lovely place to be. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to a high standard. The rooms where absolutely beautiful and really big. We were overlooking the lake, pier and carousel. Although on a main road you couldn't hear any traffic noise and there is plenty of parking room for guests. Very well looked after and would certainly stay again. Lovely stay for myself, bridesmaids and family. We all had a great night.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

After a frustrating train journey [2 hours delay] The check in was ok, till we were given a 1st floor room [would've preferred ground floor] the room looked ok at first, a double, only had one chair and no fan, but this was sorted quickly, the kitchenette was missing its fridge! but was offered use of the kitchen/dining room one. We unpacked and settled in, we hung our clothes on the open rail [no wardrobe], made a cuppa after finding somewhere to plug in the kettle [nowhere in the kitchenette!], we improvised. There was only one bedside cabinet, and no table to snack/dine at. The bathroom was compact but everything was in there. After eating out at Trattoria 51, a little way along the prom we returned to our room, it was very warm, even though I'd left the fan on! The small top window was open all the time, but did'nt let any air in at all. As we settled down for the night, on top of the bed as it was so warm, we then found the bed to be a 'small' double, like a 3/4 one. We deduced from the style, furnishings + room size that its probably used for single occupancy in less busier times.
All the minuses aside, we had breakfast which was very nice, with juice, cereal, toast, preserves & choice of items from ;- full english, to any of the elements on toast, omelettes, even veggie choices plus tea+coffee. The chef was cheerful, friendly & good at his job, as was the lady in the dining room/reception. We got everything away in our room [we usually adapt well], The bed was comfy [but small], clean linen & lovely white towels, the hospitality tray was kept filled, with complimentary biccies, the room was cleaned daily, one day on returning to our room, the fan had been swapped for a large standing one. The big TV had good reception & freeview.
On the wednesday morning, [we were going home on friday morning] the owner offered to move us to a ground floor room that had become available, a nice offer, but for 2 nights! we'd be packing on thursday night any way! Perhaps 4 nights would have been feasible, it was nice to be asked anyway. We enjoyed our stay on the whole, especially the breakfasts, all the staff were nice & helpful, carrying bags, ringing taxis e.t.c. After a shaky start [not helped by Northern Rail], we had a good breakaway, Thankyou!

Room tip: Room 7 1st floor is a double room [small] with a rear view.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank neesy-ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location is spot on, everything is close, shops, Beach, pier, Would definitely recommend this Hotel. Bed was soooo comfortable

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Do not listen to the negatives of this hotel!

Booking.com has the name different but who cares!
It's a grade2 listed building, course it's "dated" and with that in mind there is only so much renovating they can do!

Staff: on point, polite & helpfull can't ask for anything more

Food: only had bfast, but it was great with continental free. The chef was funny and hostess in high spirit despite a packed out resturant.

Room; we were on the ground floor next to main door, guests forgot people actually sleep in these rooms and weren't that courteous when entering/leaving the building but that's the guests!
Massive double wardrobe, freeview tv on big screen, lovely comfy bed with CLEAN BEDDING & fluffy pillows.
Shower is pretty much a caravan set up, sit on loo while brushing teeth over sink and able to shave legs in shower, but it's a grade 2 building so what else do you expect!?!?! Water is hot and showers was pressured and CLEAN, only 3 things that matter really.

1 night stop over that allowed me & my son some time together to enjoy many delights of southport, the hotel was a place to sleep for the night as the QT time was more important.

Hotel is fab and if booked early enough, it's a bargain specially with a full English for a 5a!

Note to manager; Thank you for our stay it was great, your staff did you proud and we will stay again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 987kayleighl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews