We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
158
156
77
40
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
156
77
40
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room lord street cooked breakfast mini bar cold buffet trouser press breakfast was included friendly hotel plenty of hot water full english tea making facilities tea and coffee quiet area would stay again within easy walking distance good nights sleep self service
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 466 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Great little hotel staff were friendly and helpful no hassel check in. Room was ok and for the price you really can't fault it. Breakfast was great and a welcome start to the mornimg. Convieniantly located with parking. Not sure how it took another reviewer 35 mins to the pier more like 10 to 15 mins. Thank you for contributing to or lovely stay in southport and we will definitely be staying again. Ian n Linda

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cants22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your honest and kind review. Yes, the hotel is 10 minutes from town and 15 minutes from the pier but sometimes customers just do not take the right road and walked hours! In any case we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Room nice, very clean, near Lord street, yet in a nice quiet area ,good parking and WiFi ,the lady doing breakfast was really nice,breakfast very good coffee delicious my two dogs loved it for the price very good

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

we stayed there while atending a wedding,it's miles away if walking to the pier which we did took us 35min. staff very welcoming and attended to our every needs,the restaurant is very dark where we had a delish breakfast.rooms r ok, creaky floors we only had a basic room, had in it everything we needed for the night just abit tired looking.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Thank you for your review, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Walked in to reception to be greeted by fish smell!
Very dated building and decor.
Lady on reception was very pleasant and very helpful.
The room was very disappointing it smelt of cigarettes and damp. The sheets were not good, stained. The bathroom was really distasteful and dirty, there was mould and damp throughout.
Breakfast was so bad I didnt eat or drink as the cutlery and crockery was dirty and ingrained.
For a budget hotel it was over priced at £55 and we learnt at breakfast that another couple only paid £40 and had a better room!! If your planning on staying here be prepared its still very much in the 80's and the food is not much better.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kate_wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Your point all along was that you paid more than some other customers who you spoke with and they paid cheaper than you. They were very satisfied but had another type of room! They had a standard double room when you had a room in the garden which is more expensive. If it was in that state, why did not you come at reception to speak to me and then go in an other hotel? You interrogated the other customers about their food and told you it was very good, but you decided to have only toast.
I eat fish, I cook fish, it is my home and a restaurant, what do you want to smell if not food. Next time, save money and go 4stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 night sat 4th Aug .lovely friendly helpful lady on reception quick check in. I stayed in room 10 with my small dog room quite small but hey ho was only sleeping there bed comfortable & clean bedding also clean . yes my room wasnt the ritz but at the price i paid with my dog which i might add i wasnt charged for i was very happy thankyou . at the prices charged
one shouldn't complain its within easy walk to lord street a lovely parade of shops restaurants bars & coffee shops .if I'm ever in the area in future I would stay again

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you very much, it was a pleasure to have you here,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews