We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
116
105
52
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
105
52
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle room lord street church car park full english short break breakfast was excellent hotel staff lovely hotel bar prices tea coffee stayed for nights would stay again air show excellent stay twin room room was spotless town centre
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 315 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at room 5 recently.
It looked nice at first. Unfortunately after a quick look we've noticed LOADS of dust in the room (I could actually 'smell' it)... Stains on the carpet, dirt in the bathroom, curtains not washed for ages. Electric kettle needs good cleaning or replacement.
Receptionist was wery nice, restaurant staff also.
Breakfast only average in our opinion but no issues.
Nicely located - close to everything.
If you do expect cleanliness - do not stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Angelika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Stayed here Saturday evening over Bank Holiday Weekend for first time with my husband. We were very impressed with the hotel in general. We had a lovely room (No 6) with a king sized bed which we requested at time of booking. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. Lovely outside patio area to the front. We chose the cooked breakfast which was very tasty. We left our bags etc at reception before the check in time and a very welcome touch was that when we went to our room around 5pm they had been taken to our room. Would definitely stay here again if they had a vacancy.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ChrissyLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

Great little hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. A very good location as it was just at the end of the Main Street in Southport. Within walking distance of all that Southport has to offer. Parking not a problem.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends and from 1st checking in to departure there wasn't anything that was an issue.
All the staff were well presented and courteous the room I had was one of the 4 poster too.s and was great.
The bar was well stocked and at breakfast time there was a good selection even though the cooked full English was a little small for a growing lad like me.
Ideal hotel location for the few minutes walk to the sights of Southport.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank cashyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my family and grandchildren
Booked the castle room as a treat for my wife and I another room for grandchildren and mum
We went to castle room looked good .Breakfast first day was good cereal then cooked breakfast but bathroom very small nothing like photos on website . Also had to ask to have Room cleaned room never hovered in the time we were there had to ask for toilet rolls we asked if our room could have a good clean as we were going out for the day on return we were told the room had had a good clean only to find out it wasn’t our room that had been cleaned. There were till receipts stuffed down the side of the easy chair. Plastic covers off a razor in bathroom if you had a shower water would go over walls window and floor even the toilet I wiped the window cill with a towel as to stop it running down the walls see photo.
Second day breakfast was cold. Had to be sent back on talking to other guests they said they had the same complaint so it’s not just
our party that felt they had a raw deal but for the price paid we think we should have had better service almost £320. 3 nights
The other room feared no better first room was like a shoe box for 3 people second room was a little bigger two single beds pushed together with a double quilt ! Asked if the room could be cleaned boy done this but forgot to empty bins or replace tea / coffee milk
Also asked if someone could fix the heating . Was given a fan heater in case it went off again
I know things go wrong but even a good will gesture of a free meal or a small refund but nothing
If not for the help and understanding from Elle things would have been much worse Thank you very much Elle once again
Jimmy family

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dukesfolly, Owner at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi James,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate that there is always room for improvement.
We only hope you can appreciate that your reservation fell on Easter half term, a peak time for us. Regardless of this, a 10% discount off your booked price for the castle room and one double room for four people bed & breakfast was demanded and applied on arrival which you claimed was promised by our staff, although we had no record nor recollection of said promise. It is only ever to our delight that our guests book our top grade Castle room but your total payment of £555.30 for 5 people for 3 nights with an average of £37pppn is a give-away price.
We receive regular praise on the cleanliness of our hotel, our freshly cooked breakfasts and the service our staff provide. We always endeavour to appropriately handle any complaints voiced by our guests. However, from hiding hair underneath furniture in a bid to catch out our housekeeping team, to staining our towels and choosing a smaller room rather than a room with an extra bed etc, we couldn’t help but feel that your party made this a very difficult task.
Therefore, the sheer amount of drama conducted by your group following the discount left us no room and no reason for any further gesture of compensation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews