We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
116
105
52
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
105
52
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle room lord street church car park full english short break breakfast was excellent hotel staff lovely hotel bar prices tea coffee stayed for nights would stay again air show excellent stay twin room room was spotless town centre
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 315 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018

There were some positives; the bar staff, cleanliness was ok, comfortable bed and decent location.
Unfortunatley there were a number of negatives; The sink was not clean, the taps were loose, the shower was awful both in size and water pressure. The toilet position was horrible and the seat was cracked. The lack of decent bedside lighting is irritating.
At breakfast the Tea and Coffee were equally awful and the baked beans were terrible, possibly burnt.
We had decided to eat dinner here as there had been decent reviews, on this site, and asked for a menu just after 7pm. we were informed that the kitchen was closing as the staff were going out. We were rushed through a very limited menu and were left somewhat dissasitified. Some advance warning would have meant we could have made alternative arrangements and avoided disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith_hawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Very close to the town centre but no problem parking. (limited number of spaces at the hotel or £5 for 24 hours immediately outside.
Staff were were friendly and efficient; great breakfast. Room was a bit small and there were some very, very minor issues but for the price - fantastic value compared to other Southport hotels

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DukeWynnstayVaults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Bed was made with no mattress protector or pillow protector. Pointed this out and very obliging young male staff member sorted this for me but I shouldn’t have had to do this in the first place. The ‘proper’ key to my allocated room was ‘misplaced’ and this was concerning at a basic security level as a lone female traveller. Also meant that I had to get back to hotel by 1100pm or could be locked out as the automatic fob mechanism I didn’t have. As it happens I got back at 1030 but door was already locked. Pressing the buzzer to alert the on duty staff member failed to work and I could only get back in because other guests were leaving. This was potentially a scary scenario for a lone female.
Value for money was very poor.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Yolande L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel. The staff are very welcoming and polite. While the room we stayed in wasn't massive it was very comfy and clean. The breakfast was excellent. Very handily placed for all the attractions of Southport.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

On arrival the receptionist was polite & friendly.
On entering our room everything appeared to look satisfactory, however, on close inspection there were several faults that should have been noticed by the management and rectified, eg; Carpet showed bad stains...Disappointed that there was no shelf in the shower cubicle...The sash window fitting was broken so there was a rolled up newspaper jammed in the window to keep it in place.
Breakfast,a big disappointment on all levels! On leaving,the staff members at the desk did not acknowledge either of us with as much as a thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TRENTLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews