We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Front of cottage with enclosed garden and patio area
Spacious hallway
Wood burning stove
Open plan kitchen/dining room
Living room
Living room
Welcome basket with local produce
Welcome basket
Bedroom with super king size zip link beds
Bathroom with shower over bath
Ensuite bedroom
Ensuite bedroom
Bedroom and ensuite bathroom
En suite bathroom
Complimentary luxury temple spa products
View of garden/parking area from secure garden
Water feature
Lovely dog friendly outdoor space with secure garden
Why not have afternoon tea on the patio?
Water feature
Secure storage for bikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bishop Auckland, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colliefan
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing weekend stay with my husband, our daughter and her fiance and our two border collies. The cottage is immaculate and has everything you need to cook or just relax. Ang the owner was so welcoming and her introduction to the cottage and the welcome pack including dog treats was outstanding.
The walk in power shower was great and spotless. The huge bed and top quality bedding enabled the best sleep we have had in months.
Our border collie loved watching the sheep from the patio doors. Some dog friendly cottage owners merely tolerate dogs but Ang is clearly a dog lover.
We were there for a birthday weekend to meet up and the weather was awful but didnt spoil our stay at all.
The nearby Quarry Burn is a great place for a meal especially Sunday lunch.
Cant recommend this place highly enough. Thanks Ang.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
It was lovely to meet you all and so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and even the weather didn't spoil it. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJH557
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage, loved our stay and will be back!”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully decorated and well equipped cottage. The welcome breakfast pack is a lovely touch from the very helpful and lovely owner. We stayed with our two children (ages 6 and 4) whom were made to feel very welcome and who enjoyed the games provided and playing outside where they introduced themselves to the sheep in the field next to us. We enjoyed visiting the Beamish Museum, Diggerland, the swimming pool in Spennymoor and Durham City centre which are all within 30minute drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It really is appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you are coming back. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Ang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome at Bracken Hill Farm Cottage, and spent four very comfortable days in this beautiful barn conversion. The kitchen was much better than ours at home! The cottage is accessible to so many attractions, from Barnards Castle to Hadrian's Wall, that we with we had booked for a longer stay .

Hilary and John Golder

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It is very much appreciated. There is an awful lot to do in County Durham and the surrounding area and you are not alone in wishing you had more time here to explore. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal C
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful every comfort,peaceful but close to lots of interesting places-fantastic owner.”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

So much thought has gone in to this cottage. Very clean and comfortable so much effort has gone into creating resource folders. Out of all the holiday cottages we have stayed in over the years this is definitely the best. The lovely Ang is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. Thanks for being a very positive part of our holiday. Sal Muz and June

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious comfortable great communication from owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your holiday. Your lovely comments make all our hard work worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, highly recommend”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Family golf trip, the accommodation was spotless, modern and had everything you needed. Ang was great and supplied a warm welcome and some much appreciated goodies to help us settle in straight away. We would all stay there again and recommend to all looking for a luxury self catering holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and would all like to stay with us again. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of the cottage and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen19...
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful week's holiday in County Durham”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week's holiday at Bracken Hill Cottage, the owner Angie was very helpful from the first contact to welcoming us on our arrival.

The cottage was beautifully kept, everything brand new and sparkling. So comfortable, from the leather sofas to the large beds and walk in ensuite shower. The garden was 100% enclosed for the two dogs, so no worries there. Over the years we have always taken self catering holidays, but Bracken Hill was by far the best.

We visited so many places whilst staying at Bracken Hill, from Raby Castle, to Derwent reservoir, Durham Cathedral and Castle, Killenhope lead mine, Blackhall beach and the moors.

Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, pub lunches exceptional value and tasty (another inch on the hips!)

I would thoroughly recommend this cottage, and we would definitely return another year.

Well done Angie, and we hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it! Would love to pack up the property and bring it home!
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on the cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, were pleased with all the facilities and found the garden secure for the dogs. County Durham is such an amazing area – there is so much to see and I think you will agree a week is not long enough to see all the sights or to enjoy the wonderful food at all the pubs and restaurants. It would be lovely if you could stay with us again – we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L L
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with everything you might need”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Good communication from owner Ang after first booking, who even sent me a pack of information leaflets of things to do and see in the area.
On arrival, we were warmly greeted by Ang, who then showed us around and went through everything we needed to know. There was a welcome basket on the kitchen table with biscuits, tea, marmalade, jam etc which was nice.
The cottage itself is located just down the road from the owners farm house, has gated off road parking, and although in a rural setting, it's only a short drive to the shops. Lovely garden with table and chairs, over looking fields. The cottage is very well kept, and has everything you might need. There are information folders, one with everything you need to know about the cottage, and another two with information leaflets about things to do and see in the area, and local pubs, menus etc.
Good sized TV with Sky, and wifi worked perfectly. Comfortable beds, and a TV in both bedrooms. There is underfloor heating, and a wood burning stove, although neither were used as it was warm enough.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this cottage as we really enjoyed our week staying there and will stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Really pleased that you are enjoyed your stay and are intending to visit us again. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage on Trip Advisor we really do appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing