We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Westmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed there just a few days ago, 5/24/12 and wished we could have stayed longer.
Beautiful views, clean and friendly people. We're looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Stop by and enjoy the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    53
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
128
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, vt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I wanted to take a moment to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay there this weekend. The Robert Frost at The WilloughVale Inn was the perfect spot for our quick overnight getaway; I only regret not booking a longer stay. I felt welcomed from the first time I spoke with Roy and even more once I was greeted at check in, I didn’t get the girl’s name there, but she was great then as well as extremely helpful with our various requests etc. The condition / comfort level of the cottage was excellent and my kids loved the play structure and beautiful lake. Hiking around there was awesome and again I want to thank both Roy and the girl at the desk for pointing me and my kids in the right direction there. We had so much fun, we’re planning on making your inn an annual tradition!

Thanks again and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We loved The Robert Frost cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverendScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

In the middle of nowhere Vermont,very friendly Innkeeper,great place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed overnight at The Willoughvale cottages on Friday March 30th in the Angler cottage. Looking for a romantic, quiet and relaxing getaway. It absolutley filled every expectation. Our Cabin, directly on Lake Willoughby was very comfortable with a gas fireplace that kept the cabin very toasty and warm on such a cool day. We were first greeted at the front desk by the Innkeeper "Roy Clark" who was very friendly and accomadating ( even escourting us outside to point out the cottage. Although we did not choose to eat at the restaurant/bar in the main Inn it was well stocked and cozy (it is only open on weekends in the winter months). Our Cabin had all the necessities from can openers to pots, pans, silverware etc. Full Fridge, stove and oven, microwave and on the outside porch... a gas grill. We stopped on the way to the cabin and picked up some groceries and dined in. Views from the cabin were spectacular (of the mountains that surround the lake). The Angler comprised of three rooms, A pantry/diningroom, a bedroom, a livingroom and a bathroom w/ standup shower. There is also a screened in porch on the property. The living room has the gas fireplace and TV (with about 10 channels mostly local w/CNN, FOX, TBS, weather channel and TNT.) There are even board games in the cabin ( Monopoly, scrabble, chess, checkers and Backgammon)It was very quiet with the exception of the stray car going by. Very enjoyable and relaxing type of trip!

Room Tip: Loved the Angler cottage!! Get groceries beforehand the Inn is about 10 miles away from any commerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmcrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in the Twilight Cottage and loved it. I cannot wait to come back. This place is truly in the middle of no where, but was relatively convenient to Burke Mountain and Jay Peak ski areas. The view of the lake was amazing and we enjoyed the accommodations immensely. I cannot wait to get back here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skigirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Roy the innkeeper and staff were the best I've worked with at any hotel, inn, or resort. They really went the extra mile (such as printing directions for my friend and I, and driving our rental car up a snowy hill for us!) and were more than friendly. They were personable and seemed genuinely concerned about the quality of our stay at the Willoughvale Inn. The cabin we stayed in (The Birches) was cozy, comfortable, and *extremely* nice. The amenities weren't chintzy like you find at a lot of places. Check out the snowmobiling for area recreation, and add some bubbles to the jacuzzi bath tub for utter relaxation. A great spot for a romantic getaway or for a small family. My little dog loved it, too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

WilloughVale is still a mid winter treasure of warmth and hospitality in northern VT. We stumbled on it 18 years ago and made the trip from PA just to return.

Room Tip: Lakeside view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westmore
25.1 km away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
38.8 km away
Jay Peak Resort
20.7 km away
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
Rodgers Country Inn & Cabins
#1 of 3 in West Glover
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#1 of 5 in Lyndonville
160 reviews
34.9 km away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
27.5 km away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Greensboro
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WilloughVale Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WilloughVale Inn and Cottages

Property: WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Address: 793 Vt Route 5a, Westmore, VT 05860-9464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Westmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WilloughVale Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality awaits you at the WilloughVale Inn, situated in an exquisite natural setting on the shores of Lake Willoughby. Lodging at the WilloughVale is gracious and informal, providing a perfectly relaxed atmosphere for vacationing in all four seasons. Accommodations and Vermont cottage rentals at our WilloughVale Inn include eleven unique guest rooms, four cozy lakefront cottages and four lakeview cottages with all the comforts of home with none of the distractions! Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is truly a wilderness jewel, offering outstanding recreational activities year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your WilloughVale Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willoughvale Inn And Cottages Hotel Westmore
WilloughVale Inn And Cottages Vermont/Westmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing