We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you need to stay near Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good choice if you need to stay near Gatwick”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed just for one night over the May bank holiday. The weather was miserable but I can't blame the hotel for that. The hotel has managed to retain its old world charm, even though it’s located in the middle of Gatwick’s urban sprawl (sorry, but Horley is not very nice). Our room in the old building was a decent size: comfortable bed, and a lovely view over the rain-soaked-but-lovely garden. Dinner was enjoyable – maybe a bit too “nouveu cuisine” for me (i.e. small portions) – but overall the food was well presented and tasty, and full marks for having some decent veggie options on the menu. Restaurant and check-in service was polite and efficient throughout our stay. I’d definitely stay again if I was in the area or travelling via Gatwick, but this wouldn’t be my first choice for rural getaway. Finally, worth noting that the hotel charged us a lower room rate than the one we booked (unprompted).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    236
    85
    40
    22
See reviews for
135
561
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is gorgeous, full of character and interesting architectual sights. We spent one night here in the Leeds suite which had a 4-poster bed and a large bathroom with bath and separate shower. There were views over the garden to the back. The bed was really comfortable and the room was quiet. We had dinner too which was a wonderful experience. The "colourful" maite d was extremely helpful and friendly with explanations and recommendations. The food was delicious but the portion sizes are tiny which is probably why most people take the 7 course tasting menu. We shared the tasting plate of deserts which was devine! Not cheap but worth it for a special occasion or a night before a special holiday as it is only 3 miles from Gatwick airport. I would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Rather disappointed with our stay here, as mentioned by a previous reviewer the bed was far too soft and the room rather dark- and we had only one bedside light so had to put the overhead lights on to read in bed and not all the overhead bulbs worked either. It was a cool night but the duvet we were provided with had hardly any padding in it- there were large areas which were literally just the cotton cover and nothing else, meaning we were sleeping under only four layers of thin cotton, a top and bottom sheet and the two thin layers of the duvet. Plus there was only a very thin pillow each and there were hairs in the bath. All in all Much lower standard than we are accustomed to for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_30_something-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

A trip back in time! We stayed in Henry VIII Suite furnishings and linens excellent. Beautiful private terrace overlooking the moat. We had a superb meal in the restaurant. We only stayed overnight prior to leaving from Gatwick on holiday. Would definitely repeat this experience as left totally relaxed, which I never feel when book in at an impersonal branded airport hotel.

Room Tip: Henry VIII Suite was just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H7FJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was really disappointed with the cream tea at Langshot Manor. The house and grounds are beautiful all let down by no service at all, stale sandwiches and as the previous reviewer has already mentioned rock cakes not scones. I will not be recommending this place to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dunstable499476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

As a treat for my 80 year old mother in law we booked an afternoon tea for 6 at the Surrey based Langshott Manor. Upon arrival you are met with a glorious 16th century Home in beautiful gardens, complete with duck pond. The gardener is obviously very attentive and works hard all year round to keep the garden in its current splendor. What a shame the restaurant staff were not on the same course. Once we were served our sandwiches and cakes we never saw the waiter again. The sandwiches were starting to go hard, the scones were like rock cakes and the cucumber sliced so thin, the chef would have won an award for his knife skills!!!. No milk was left for our tea and coffee, so on hunting down the allusive waiter, another party on a different table were kind enough to lend us some of their milk. We had no jam or cream for the rock cakes, sorry, scones, and again went looking for some assistance. Overall, the experience was extremely poor, devoid of any customer service or attention. I'm sure if a bill had to be settled at the end ( we had vouchers) the waiter would have made a guest appearance holding his hand out for his well earned tip. I also heard of another customer complaining about the dinner, so whatever experience your after, avoid the Langshott Manor and settle for a take-away sandwich from the supermarket and a family iced bun from the bakery department.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GARYGOONER59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Langshott manor is a cozy small hotel. Their restaurant is serving delicious, innovative cuisine. Could deserve a Michelin star.
Not much flexibility concerning late check-outs.

Room Tip: Become member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, which facilitates room upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clausglogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
9.8 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
38.2 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,059 reviews
6.2 km away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
10.2 km away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.8 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing