We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland House Gatwick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My son and I stayed here one night at the end of our trip to Europe. Carmel was very welcoming and brought me a teapot of hot water to make tea. This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. The breakfast was delicious, and the owners were very friendly. Clive has a great British sense of humour. We enjoyed our stay so much that I have booked our stay with them for two nights again this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slybacon_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    63
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
133
385
64
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

After discovering this place last January as a solo traveller, I decided to use it again with my family. They loved it as much as me.
As usual, Clive is calm, quiet and efficent and Carmel very welcoming. Even when busy they both have time for a chat and are genuinely interested in their guests.
Beds are comfortable and even arriving late at night, you will find the rooms warm and cosy. Everything is clean and homely.
Now, the breakfasts!!!!! ABSOLUTELY gorgeous. I lay awake early in morning dreaming of them.!! Sad but true.
We would'nt stay anywhere else now and I'm booked to stay again in February.
Thanks very much, see you soon XX

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 separate rooms and both very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notforturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have stayed at the cumberland a couple of times before ,and all ways find the acommadation to be very good ,clean tidy and handy you can leave your car in safe hands HOW WRONG WE WERE
on retunring from are two weeks in the sun in the small hours of the morning only to find our car with a small dent to the wing and a big scratch from the front bumper to the wheel arch OWG we looked around the rest of the car but thank god all ok ,we tryed to find the owner but did not know where to knock and at 4.30 in the morning didnt want to wake any guests so headed off back to cornwall ,as soon as we got home got on the phone to ask if any thing had happened when we was away ,no they said ,and no way did we damaged your car and your get no money from us ,
i asked them that surely they had insurance for things like this as accidents do happen ,NO NO NO ,
they went on to say they dont need insurance to park cars on the property and that they park over 50 cars at any one time and dont need insurance
if you have ever stayed at the property then you know they park cars all around the four side of the house and in the big car park to the front , i believe they park far to many cars here and are just cashing in on a good thing ,
the day we first dropped are car off the owner was parking cars on the road side of the house ,he was going out of his drive on to a public road then parking the cars up , he is breaking the LAW by doing this as he has no insurance to be on a public road
to cut a long story short , they have still never payed for the damage to our car and never will , so before you book this guest house ,give the owner a call to ask if he has insurance to drive your car , ,if not find somewhere that has , save your money in the long run
have a look at the pics of my car ,it might seam small damage to you ,but damage is damage ,
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folders, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Whilst we have every sympathy with Mr T, neither Clive or I did any damage to his car. At Cumberland House we take extreme care of all the cars parked on our property and are very upset for Mr T that he believes we would damage his car in any way.

At Cumberland House we park every guest’s car on-site. Guest’s cars are never driven on the road.

During numerous telephone conversations in the days following Mr T’s return from holiday, Mr T had a quotation drawn up from his local Paint Shop. The total of the repair was quoted at £200.00. Without prejudice as a goodwill gesture I agreed that on receipt of an Invoice from his Paint Shop we would pay £100.00. We are at a loss to understand why 8 months later he never sent us the Invoice.

In the 7 years Clive and I have been running Cumberland House we have built quite a reputation for ourselves through hard work. We are confident that current guests and prospective guests understand this is a very extraordinary and unreasonable accusation.

Yours sincerely
Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just back from the Cumberland House. This place is a gem and the service is second to none. We look forward to staying there and always go to the Six Bells for our evening meal. You can relax and have a drink as its only a short walk away. Thank you Carmel and Clive. We have stayed several times and never had any problem with traffic noise or hot water shortage.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I had an overnight in Gatwick in transit before a long flight to the Caribbean. I arrived late at night, and Cumberland was quite prompt in collecting me from the airport. The rooms were very clean, cozy and quite warm. After a nice cup of tea (everything you need for a great cup was provided in the room), I had the most amazing sleep in the most comfortable bed in the world!

Breakfast was prepared in a timely manner and the breakfast provided was quite substantial, especially for a longhaul of travel.

I would definitely return to Cumberland just for the cozy bed and the awesome breakfast.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with these prices, which include breakfast and airport transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here two nights and have to say that I very much doubt anyone could find a better b&b to stay in, at least not on this planet. From the extensive and freshly cooked 5 * breakfast to the comfortable beds, big fluffy towels, shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom (in bottles, not those measly sachets!) and newly refurbished bathrooms with power-showers to the little details like biscuits with your tea-making set and even a set of brandnew earplugs waiting on your bedside table, A Godsend for those of us who are used to deadly silent environments at home. The owners are delightful, friendly, helpful, can't do enough for you and will take you to Gatwick Airport and pick you up again regardless of your flight times. I can recommend the Cumberland House B&B fullheartedly!!!
Johanna

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostorm1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Clive was rude and abrupt. The B&B is on a very busy main road so very noisy all night. There wasn't enough hot water for us to have a shower in the morning as other guests were using the facilities and it was too much of a drain on the system. The Airport transfer was chaotic due to Clives' lack of organization.
On the plus side, Ye Olde Six Bells pub was great and the B&B is handy for Gatwick Airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brecon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.0 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 km away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 km away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Property: Cumberland House Gatwick
Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing