We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very spacious and warm”
other travellers have booked this property
Bankend farmhouse.
(Front)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bankend farmhouse.
(Front)
Sitting room with flat screen TV, and wood burning stove. Sitting room , with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Bankend farmhouse.
(Front)
Sitting room with flat screen TV, and wood burning stove.
Sitting room , with wood burning stove.
Sitting room, with TV, and wood burner
View of Ben Lomond from patio area
Kitchen
Kitchen / dinning area  seating 10. with french doors to patio area.
Ariel veiw of Stirling Castle and the Ochill hills
Second reception room. Views to Stirling Castle  and Ochill Hills, overlooking large secure garden.
Lovely old dresser. One of the original pieces in this beautiful house.
Large downstairs shower room .
Bedroomdownstairs king sized bed .
Stirling Castle from bedrooms at Bankend
Twin Bedroom on the ground floor
Downstairs Twin room ,
View from back door .
Twin room , with lovely views
Beautiful room with lovely dressing table , unfortunately my camera skills are  limited.
Upstairs bedroom with 3 beds, super views, large room
Upstairs bedroom with 3 divans ,
Upstairs king bed room
Upstairs king bedroom
Upstairs bathroom with shower.
Some of the horses on the farm. .
View when you leave Bankend and join the main road
Entrance to Bankend from the main road.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike L
Paignton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very spacious and warm”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Booking was easy with the owner responding to emails very quickly. 6 of us stayed at the cottage from mid October there was plenty of room for us all and the cottage was very warm. Everything we need for a comfortable stay was in the cottage. Our only concern was that we were not given a door key at the time as the previous guests had taken it away! Val - the owner said not to worry she was always around to keep an eye on the cottage as she lived opposite. The cottage is situated in a quiet spot with easy access to Stirling by car and if travelling further afield is close to all the main roads.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lightning...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Under the watch tower”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Very nice cottage, beautifully and comfortably furnished.

Tricky to book though, the owner doesn't respond in a timely fashion to emails.

The owner lives in a new build over the driveway and keeps horses the other side of the cotteg. You feel enveloped under her gaze. She in fact remarked "you've had people coming and going, it's like Piccadilly Circus".

I requested and agreed to pay a supplement for 2 extra guests for 2 nights, the owner then tried to hustle for more money. "you've had nice weather all week and sat outside on the terrace, my brother has a flat in Edinburgh with no outside space - you should pay more"

Upon learning that the electricity was being turned off, (by way of noticing the power cut!) the owner had not given us notice, "it slipped my mind, I'm so busy."
NOT good with a 6 week old baby!

The dishwasher was ineffective meaning LOTS of washing up, and the broadband simply doesn't work.

However, it's a beautiful setting with good access to the Trossachs and beyond. We loved the safari park.

After a somewhat firm and officious email from me restating the terms of our agreement, the owner thrust my deposit cheque in my face in a heated exchange. Heated on her part. The ladies in our party were upset with the owner's manner. (I survived)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Very unpleasant owner in very close proximity
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_S_85_1...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Very nice house and very spacious.
The rooms are lovely decorated and the kitchen facilities are good.
We stayed in winter and it was very cold during the day until the heating came on at 5pm.
It is a short drive to Stirling city centre therefor shops etc are easily accessible.
Although wifi was advertised with the property it did not work and the owner did not fix it, which we were disappointed at.
We had a lovely view of Stirling castle and the fireworks at new year.

Very nice stay although quite cold!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The style and decoration of the house and the space available
Liked least: No wifi and lack of heat during the day
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the house
Liked least: For a winter let it would have been better if the house was warmer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gianfranc...
Padua, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply faboulous”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is a great place to stay for a large group of friends/family. We were 15 and never had the impression of jamming the house, there was also room for a private parking of our three cars. The neighborhood was fine and at walking distance from the city center. The kitchen is very well equipped and the dining room is big enough to have all of us sitting around the same table.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: the day of departure
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing