We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stirling Youth Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Inn Express Stirling(Stirling)(Great Value!)
US$91
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stirling Court Hotel(Stirling)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Robert Hotel(Bannockburn)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel(Bannockburn)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
29
38
28
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
38
28
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationshower facilitiesbed roombars and restaurantsstayed for one nightwi fiwallace monumentensuitescotland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just as it should be. The hostel was clean and very well priced. Location is superb the staff are very helpfull. Only bad thing is that the carpark is very small only 6 spaces then its off site parking on the locsl streets.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingfisher1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We paid £48 for a twin en-suite room which, on booking, seemed a reasonable price; comparable with, for example, a Travelodge. The room was small with only one, very high, velux window which was filthy, suggesting that it hadn’t been cleaned for a very long time. One of the beds squeaked so loudly with the slightest movement that we ended up moving the mattress to the floor to get some peace & quiet. To be fair, when we mentioned this in the morning we were told that we could have had a different room if we'd mentioned it the night before. The position of the mattress didn’t matter as there were no reading lights. The only electricity sockets in the room are blocked by a bed, so we had to pull the bed away from the wall to charge our phones. The water from the only tap in the room was ‘not drinking water’ which seemed a bit odd; should we have brought bottled water to use when cleaning our teeth? On the plus side the shower was excellent, even if the extractor fan was so bunged up with grease and fluff that it didn’t work (same in the toilet). The walls seem to be paper thin; we could hear someone close by coughing then snoring as we settled down to sleep. Despite this, we both slept very soundly; either the snorer stopped or we were so tired we blocked it out. We were glad that it was a quiet night with only 30+ visitors instead of the 80 or so they were expecting the next night. I enjoyed my continental breakfast and felt that it was good value. My wife used the kitchen and found it to be clean and well equipped. The hostel is very close to the castle and we were pleased to be allowed to leave our car in their grounds until early afternoon while we visited the castle. All of the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful.
Would we go back? Probably not, there is almost certainly better value accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Absolutely zip special about this SYHA. It's basic fare, does the job. Yawns of complete non descript-ness. Such a hard one to rate because there is just so little that stands out about this hostel any which way. It's not great, it's not bad, it's just a hostel. You will get a decent room, there are decent facilities, the staff are OK, if not a little reserved and less than anxious to greet you and make you welcome. Just a bit of a tad boring hostel. Pretty much like the rest of the city really.
It doesn't happen in Stirling. My friend and I stayed here for a night on our way through to the south and after walking the street to find a decent pub - the best of which was an Aussie pub believe it or not - we were eventually scared back to the hostel by two vampyres lurking in an Irish pub down town - long story. I only wish there was a 2.5 star rating because that's what this hostel is. I was generous and rounded up.
But the hostel is as described - basic fare.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The first hostel i booked in Stirling! Although at first, the service was okay, the prices were very high, the location was 10 minutes from the centre approximately, the hostel was noisy, and in case you are late(if you arrive after 2a.m) you are not able to get in (even if the staff has assured you that they stay up until 2a.m) and won't be able to get a refund(not even a partial). Definetely not recommended to anyone! If you are about to book a hostel in Stirling Willy Wallace should be your first choice!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

the hotel is next to a graveyard and a jail, the rooms are tiny and the sheets are not properly cleaned, the beds are not comfortable and have very thin matresses, the shower is just a curtain and there is no door, the door handle for the entrance of our room fell off and the food wasn't very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yirmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews