We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stirling Youth Hostel
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
601 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Excellent location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We drove into Stirling and this hostel is very easy to find. It's in an excellent location, about a 7 min walk to the Stirling castle and the surrounding sites, and between 5-10 min walk to the downtown area with all the bars and restaurants.
There is parking on premises but not very many spots, but we were lucky to have arrived when there were lots of spots available. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There is also internet that you can pay to use. Can't remember if there is wi-fi. We paid 48 pounds for a double twin room with en-suite bathroom. It was very simple, the beds were not the most comfortable, with quite thin mattresses, but for the price for two people was quite reasonable, so not much to complain about. We also only spent one night here, so maybe for longer stays it may not be ideal. However, we are not fussy travelers, so maybe the fact that the room was quite simple would bother some people. We had everything we needed, the location was superb and the room was clean. I would recommend this to others that are just looking for a clean and cheap place to stay that is close to all the attractions of Stirling.
One thing to mention is that apparently in Stirling during the week restaurants don't stay open for very long, we had a hard time to finding a place for dinner past 8 p.m.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
16
21
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just as it should be. The hostel was clean and very well priced. Location is superb the staff are very helpfull. Only bad thing is that the carpark is very small only 6 spaces then its off site parking on the locsl streets.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We paid £48 for a twin en-suite room which, on booking, seemed a reasonable price; comparable with, for example, a Travelodge. The room was small with only one, very high, velux window which was filthy, suggesting that it hadn’t been cleaned for a very long time. One of the beds squeaked so loudly with the slightest movement that we ended up moving the mattress to the floor to get some peace & quiet. To be fair, when we mentioned this in the morning we were told that we could have had a different room if we'd mentioned it the night before. The position of the mattress didn’t matter as there were no reading lights. The only electricity sockets in the room are blocked by a bed, so we had to pull the bed away from the wall to charge our phones. The water from the only tap in the room was ‘not drinking water’ which seemed a bit odd; should we have brought bottled water to use when cleaning our teeth? On the plus side the shower was excellent, even if the extractor fan was so bunged up with grease and fluff that it didn’t work (same in the toilet). The walls seem to be paper thin; we could hear someone close by coughing then snoring as we settled down to sleep. Despite this, we both slept very soundly; either the snorer stopped or we were so tired we blocked it out. We were glad that it was a quiet night with only 30+ visitors instead of the 80 or so they were expecting the next night. I enjoyed my continental breakfast and felt that it was good value. My wife used the kitchen and found it to be clean and well equipped. The hostel is very close to the castle and we were pleased to be allowed to leave our car in their grounds until early afternoon while we visited the castle. All of the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful.
Would we go back? Probably not, there is almost certainly better value accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Absolutely zip special about this SYHA. It's basic fare, does the job. Yawns of complete non descript-ness. Such a hard one to rate because there is just so little that stands out about this hostel any which way. It's not great, it's not bad, it's just a hostel. You will get a decent room, there are decent facilities, the staff are OK, if not a little reserved and less than anxious to greet you and make you welcome. Just a bit of a tad boring hostel. Pretty much like the rest of the city really.
It doesn't happen in Stirling. My friend and I stayed here for a night on our way through to the south and after walking the street to find a decent pub - the best of which was an Aussie pub believe it or not - we were eventually scared back to the hostel by two vampyres lurking in an Irish pub down town - long story. I only wish there was a 2.5 star rating because that's what this hostel is. I was generous and rounded up.
But the hostel is as described - basic fare.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

The first hostel i booked in Stirling! Although at first, the service was okay, the prices were very high, the location was 10 minutes from the centre approximately, the hostel was noisy, and in case you are late(if you arrive after 2a.m) you are not able to get in (even if the staff has assured you that they stay up until 2a.m) and won't be able to get a refund(not even a partial). Definetely not recommended to anyone! If you are about to book a hostel in Stirling Willy Wallace should be your first choice!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

the hotel is next to a graveyard and a jail, the rooms are tiny and the sheets are not properly cleaned, the beds are not comfortable and have very thin matresses, the shower is just a curtain and there is no door, the door handle for the entrance of our room fell off and the food wasn't very good.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yirmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

I arrived mid-morning as I drove straight here from Edinburgh airport where I had just flown in from Australia. Hostel was very easy to find, no problem at all with parking in the carpark.

Although too early to check in I was able to change into fresh clothes in the communal toilets and freshen up a little.

I stayed in a twin room. My room had no covering over the sky light which was a tad annoying but I brought an eye mask with me so I just used that. The shower in the room wasn't great, low pressure and water everywhere as the flimsy curtain didn't do much. Could have done with a good scrub too. Unlike another poster below, I did have an electrical socket in my room and so was able to charge up my phone and use my hair dryer.

The hostel was very very quiet when I was there, I saw a few people when I had dinner and breakfast but otherwise there weren't many people around.

I'm a big fan of SHYAs and this one didn't disappoint. Did lack character though but I think all city hostels do.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrawBlether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.9 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling Youth Hostel

Property: Stirling Youth Hostel
Address: Stirling Youth Hostel St. John Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stirling Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stirling Youth Hostel is situated in the Old Town of Stirling, offering 4-star budget accommodation with 92 beds. A range of multi-share and private rooms are available at Stirling Youth Hostel, all en-suite. Facilities include a self-catering kitchen, dining room, two separate common areas and a meeting room for private use. This licensed youth hostel also offers meals to guests. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stirling Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing