We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick meal”

Brea - Scottish Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 244 Restaurants in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Here at Brea were all about love. We love taking fresh locally sourced ingredients and turning them into delicious dishes offering a modern or traditional take on Scottish cuisine. Our seafood comes from the West Coast of Scotland and we use local food suppliers to fully showcase Scotland's larder. All this combined with our large selection of Scottish spirits, ciders and craft beers brings you the ultimate food lovers experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mushroom and Spinach Tagliatelle. Not cheap, but the best pasta dish I have tasted. First time I have ate solo in a restaurant but staff attentive haha.

Thank PGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived with 7 friends for lunch with high expectations from other reviews and photos on social media. Found the menu designed for dinner rather than lunch. Most of the table had burgers of some description, we also had a couple of cheese boards amongst a few other dishes. The food tasted really nice but the cheese board priced just under £10 was the poorest I have ever been presented with. A few crackers not an oatcake in sight... a shot of honey; there was hardly enough cheese for the 5 small crackers! One lady asked specifically not to have tzatziki but it came with it anyway. Our soda water came flat and had to be replaced. To our surprise they added a 10% gratuity charge to our overpriced lunch . I could not understand this for such an already overpriced lunch and our plates being put infront of us. Being polite we payed it rather than being cheeky and asked for it to be removed. The service did not warrant this service charge which clearly the waitress failed by not delivering a simple burger without dressing and flat soda water. Not for us food tasted good but VERY overpriced. Locally sourced ; chips were of a frozen variety wedges/ skinny fries not even homemade. Again the cheese board was poor.

Thank Tracystuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreaStirling, Owner at Brea - Scottish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tracy,

Our menu has many options at different sizes and our starter menu is also titled ‘light bites’ which many customers choose for their lunch. Our servers would happily have given advice on portion size prior to ordering - had you asked.

Our cheeseboard: I have literally never heard a complaint about this dish and we buy in some of Scotland’s finest cheeses, our Head Chef personally makes the thyme infused honey and the red onion marmalade is made by our chefs. Had you asked for more honey or crackers or even oatcakes, we would happily have supplied at no extra cost. Most other customers have no issue with the quantities and, as mentioned above, I genuinely have never heard a complaint about this before.

The soda was replaced straight away, the tzatziki was offered to be removed by our chefs but your friend said she was happy to take this off herself.

It clearly states on our menu and our website that a 10% discretionary service charge will be added for tables of 6 or more. You would have been quite within your rights to ask for this to be removed - but you did not.

Our wedges are hand made by our chefs every day so you are wrong there.

You didn’t bring up a single issue to your servers when they enquired if everything was OK. I would suggest that you do this in the future in a restaurant as this is the reason servers ask, so that they can rectify anything. But of course leaving the restaurant and then leaving an average review on TripAdvisor is another way to deal with things.

Best wishes,

Rob Morton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have dinner in this restaurant while we visit Stirling. The place is nice and the service is friendly. We taste tagliatelles with salmon and risotto with scampi. Both meals are tasty and enough large (no desert afterwards!). The price is not so much expensive because it is a really different food from what you may find in Scotland.

Thank Cigogne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our last restaurant on our recent trip to Scotland. It's a charming spot on a charming street in the charming downtown of Stirling. A little more upscale than most of the other places where we ate during our travels. My wife loved her wine and her crab appetizer and my steak burger was very good. My only complaint was having to pay the equivalent of $8 Canadian for a small bottle of beer. But maybe that's just my Scottish heritage coming through.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Attentive & charming waiting staff with good local culinary knowledge. Main course of rolled haddock was delicious, accompanied by seasonal produce. Sticky toffee pudding was to die for. Very good value. Would thoroughly recommend.

Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brea - Scottish Restaurant also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Brea - Scottish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing