We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb family stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 2 The Ropery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Beautiful dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons
View from third floor bedroom
View of No 2 The Ropery
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb family stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had such a lovely warm welcome to the house. Brilliant communication with the owner. Amazing location, in the heart of the town centre. Will be booking to visit again. Highly recommend for families or groups. 5 stars from us all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
So glad that you enjoyed it Louise. We bought the house with a view to making it a happy family place to stay :) You are welcome back at any time. thank you for leaving it in such a tidy and respectable way - how lovely xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillian g
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely superb in every way”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was lovely to find such a beautiful holiday home which had absolutely everything on hand to accommodate all our family.
Alison and her family were very approachable and nothing was too much trouble, the complementary wine was a lovely welcome too,thank you.
The Ropery was just literally situated at the bottom of the high street which had all amenities on hand which was great.
We all had a lovely holiday ,will most definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the property and close to amenities
Liked least: lack of a downstairs toilet for members in our party who were less mobile.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so so much for this wonderful review - you were an absolute pleasure to have....I loved our early chats :) please do come again, you are more than welcome xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillyg1
Leeds , West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home , absolutely fabulous !”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we booked this accommodation I knew it was going to be fabulous. Alison was very friendly and most helpful on advising of places to eat etc. And from pictures / reviews of the house I knew it was going to be lovely. Myself and 7 other girls were there for my Hen Weekend. From the moment we arrived , to a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us , to the moment we left it was fab. The house is a great size for a group so you don't feel like you are on top of each other , beds were so comfy , everything a group could need. No scrabbling about for cutlery etc , and a big bonus with a group of girls eating in , a dishwasher !! We ate out at a restaurant called Figaros on the Saturday night which was equally as good. They were very attentive and the food was delicious. Visited Dalby Forest on the Saturday for Segways , just one word, amazing !!! Pickering is a lovely little village and would definitely go back. But the house made it , so if you are looking for somewhere for a group , especially girls then this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Home from Home feeling.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you so so much for taking the time to do us a review and such a fab one :) You were a pleasure to deal with and it makes my day to read that the house catered for all of your requirements. Please come back again soon....always welcome xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneJags
Southampton, Canada
1 review
“Would definitely go back!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I can't say enough about no 2 Ropery. Nine of us loved the location. Pickering has so much to offer and you are close to York and Whitby. If traveling again with a large group to the UK, I wouldn't hesitate in booking No 2 again. It was clean, stocked full of games for the kids, and amenities like home. Thank you Alison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern home and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You were a pleasure from
Start to finish :) please do come back to stay in the future! It makes my day to get such wonderful reviews. Thank you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked this cottage last minute for our friends birthday as our original plan got cancelled last minute. We somehow managed to bag a night in this cottage and we are so glad we did! Absolutely beautiful cottage in a beautiful area. There's shops, banks, cafes and pubs nearby so you don' t need to worry about bringing everything with you. Beds are comfy and the living rooms very spacious, so we used it to all sit and chat and play games. Only issue is that there is only one car parking space and I'm not sure where to park if there was more than one car, but otherwise I'd definitely recommend this cottage!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we were so glad to have helped you at such short notice :) Glad you enjoyed it! Unfortunately yes we do only have one parking space behind the house however there is lots of free parking just seconds walk from the house - and also very reasonably priced parking in the many car parks in the town. Thanks so much again and hope you will come back soon. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathrynha...
1 review
“FAB!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just spent a brilliant couple of days on a girlie weekend away. Stunning cottage in a perfect location. The cottage was very well equipped any very spacious and clean. Lovely little private courtyard at the back with ample seating for everyone. Would highly recommend for both groups and families as everything you need. Very, very, very comfy bed!!! Great bars/pubs just across the road, friendly staff and good atmosphere. Will definitely be booking to stay again!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. So pleased that you had a fab time - please come back again soon xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbarlow...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

No 2 The Ropery is a fabulous place to stay in Pickering. It is in a great location with plenty of amenities close by. The cottage is kept in pristine condition with modern decoration. The owners left a welcome gift which was a lovely gesture. I will return to this cottage many times. It just feels like home .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Mrs B. You were an absolute pleasure to deal with from the very first contact. Please do come back again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing