We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
116
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool family holiday play area feed the animals cake fat hen buck inn each morning dalby forest collect eggs on site laundry large trampoline a great week on arrival single bedroom climbing frame great accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 120 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018

A lovely three day break with our grandchildren . We stayed in Columbine cottage. ... a tray of creme egg brownies waiting for us...a perfect start to the Easter break!
The cottage was lovely...furnished to a very high standard , cosy and welcoming. It was very well equipped, home from home.
Kirsty and Graham, the owners, are warm and friendly and taking great pride in their new venture. They took time with the children and showed a genuine interest in their guests. A good choice of family games and DVDs . A safe outdoor play area with trampoline which the children loved.
Jess , age 7 and Emily , age 5, loved the pool...and would have stayed there all day! They jumped out of bed in the mornings to go and feed the animals and collect the eggs with Kirsty and Graham. They loved Noodle and Doodle, the long haired sheep.
We spent a day in Dalby forest using the free passes. Also had a a meal at the nearby Buck Inn , a traditional, friendly pub with log fire.
We look forward to staying again very soon and can't recommend Beech Farm highly enough .
Thank you.
Richard, Celia, Claire , Jessica and Emily

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K, Owner at Beech Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thanks Celia C for such a kind review. We’ll look forward to welcoming you back to Beech Farm in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

G&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Just spent a long weekend at Beech Farm Cottages for a family birthday and what a lovely time we all had.
Right from the booking,I had contact with Graham who was friendly and helpful.
We stayed in Shepherds Lodge which has 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a large living room, dining area, kitchen and a snug perfect for escaping to for a big of quiet.
It really was fantastic. We were greeted to delicious home made brownies on arrival along with tea and coffee (very jealous of the huge collection of Cath Kidston mugs!)

On the site, we found a laundry room, full of DVDS, games and leaflets of local attractions which were perfect to keep the children entertained and gave us plenty of ideas of where to visit in the area.

We used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna every day which went day particularly well with the 2 children in our party. There was a selections of floats and toys available for use as well.

The added bonus of the little park and trampoline along with the animals topped of the holiday.
Feeding time and meeting the animals went down a treat as did the chicken eggs that were collected.

The only slight niggles we had were that one of the bedroom doors wouldn't shut without huge force but this was due to new carpets which had just been put down so sure that is something that will be sorted in time.
Also we found that the kettle was over the opposite side of the kitchen to where the cups, cutlery and fridge were so meant a lot of trips across the kitchen - not a massive deal I know but when you're dancing around another 9 people it gets a bit chaotic!

Overall we had the perfect weekend and we loved every minute staying at this gorgeous cottage. A huge thank you to Graham and Kirsty for everything.
When I had been reading all the excellent reviews before our visit I kept telling myself - it can't be that good can it?! - well it was; it completely exceeded my expectations.
Hope to be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkerbell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K, Owner at Beech Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thanks Tinkerbell53 for the review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed yourself and that we exceeded your expectations. Rest assured, we will take on board your points about the sticky bedroom door (as you say, down to new carpets), and the kettle.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Best wishes

G&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Just arrived home from a fantastic weekend at Beech Farm cottages. There were over 30 in our party including 9 children. We rented the farmhouse and five cottages. We made full use of the pool and the children fed the animals daily.
Kirsty and Graham made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and every member of our family were delighted with the accommodation *****. Excellent self catering facilities, great comfy beds and bedding., very warm , spacious and cosy. Absolutely everything you need to make a great break away.
So we would like thank Kirsty and Graham all wish the best in the future .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank cheapasposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K, Owner at Beech Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you for the review cheapasposs. We're really pleased that your whole family enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you all the best for the future. Hopefully you won't need to wait for the next big birthday celebration to come again!

Best wishes

G&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

My wife does the research for our family holidays and as always came up trumps with this one. Beech Farm Cottages are perfect for young families.

First, I have to mention the hospitality and friendliness of the owners Kirsty and Graham who were simply delightful. They’ve given it a fair revamp since taking it over last summer (their story is interesting). We stayed in one of the two bed cottages all of which overlook the courtyard which was lovely and warm.

The daily routine of feeding the animals (you will learn all the names of the goats, sheep and hens) at 9am and 4pm was just brilliant for our 2.5 yr old - actually for us adults as well. Then on site is a swimming pool and play park for convenient moseying around. There is a massive collection of DVDs for all ages along with lots of children’s books - Dragon Stew was a particular favourite. The village has a larger playpark which was another good 30 minutes of fun.

Then if you want to go further afield, Pickering is lovely, as are the nearby villages of Hutton le Hole and Thornton le Dale. We ventured as far as York as our first two days were snowy and went to the rail museum - perfect for any Thomas buffs.

As we left a new chicken house arrived so we look forward to returning and meeting the new residents! Brilliant time had by all. Thank you to Kirsty and Graham (and Noodle and Doodle).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Alexanderholtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded March 24, 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review Alexanderholtuk. It was fantastic having your family to stay and the fact you all enjoyed it so much gives us enormous pleasure. Nine new chickens (a motley bunch picked up locally) were safely integrated into their new home today although I could have done with all your help trying to get them all in at bedtime!

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Beech Farm at some future point.

Best wishes

G&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Booked the 5 bed cottage at beech farm for a family wedding in the area.
What a great choice we made.
This place did not disappoint, loads of room, spotless, 4 bathrooms, huge kitchen 2 lounges.
The kids loved using the heated indoor swimming pool, sauna.
We were hit with a blizzard this weekend but it only made the place even more cosy.
Some more of my family rented the 2 bed cottage and again it was excellent
Great location if you want to visit Scarborough,Whitby or anywhere around North Yorkshire
We will be back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded March 21, 2018

Thank you for the kind words Dennis D. It was our pleasure having you all to stay and I'm glad the weekend was such a success. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Beech Farm in the future.

Best wishes

G&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews