We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not have asked for a better place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
All the rooms in Medds holiday cottage look out over the beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
All the rooms in Medds holiday cottage look out over the beautiful gardens
The spacious Kitchen/breakfast room with underfloor heating is a great place for breakfast Spacious, contemporary kitchen with underfloor heating and views of the Dale
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
All the rooms in Medds holiday cottage look out over the beautiful gardens
The spacious Kitchen/breakfast room with underfloor heating is a great place for breakfast
Spacious, contemporary kitchen with underfloor heating and views of the Dale
The log burner is the focal point of the main lounge area
Enjoy breakfast on the sunny terrace with the best views in Rosedale!
Spacious Master bedroom with super-king size bed and fantastic views of the Dale
Super-king bedroom with window seating area, part of the family suite on the second floor
Twin bed room, part of the family suite with the same amazing views
Summer house provides another lovely seating area from which to enjoy the views
Beyond the flower garden are the fruits and vegetables of the kitchen garden
The River Seven and Dunn Carr Bridge are just a short stroll from Medds cottage
You will be spoilt for choice by the vast number of picturesque walks around Rosedale
Medds Farm Holiday cottage has a large garden where you can relax
Old mine workings can be seen across the valley from the farm house
The stunning view from the terrace across the garden and Rosedale will enchant you
Huge log burner makes for a cosy lounge on winter nights!
The flower garden is well stocked. providing a haven for the bees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katy B
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Could not have asked for a better place to stay!”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My friends and I decided to have a relaxing break for mine and my brother's birthday and I came upon this on Welcome Cottages. It is just as lovely and homely as the pictures suggested. The owner, Chrissy, was very welcoming and even had freshly bakes bread ready for us on arrival.
The views from the house are stunning and the surrounding areas are great for long walks.
The cottage was very clean and all eight of us were very impressed. The log fire is the perfect touch.

Overall, I would definitely return to this cottage if I was to have a similar trip in mind. Very happy customer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Not a thing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for your positive review. It's always great to welcome young guests like yourselves, as well as our more mature visitors! I think Medds has something for everyone and I am delighted you made the most of our stunning walks and amazing scenery here in Rosedale. I would be delighted to welcome you and your friends back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely people, amazing location, there was always plently to do, a great place to visit if you love a great view, enjoy photography, or just simply want to stay somewhere a little bit different.
Drive is a bit bumpy due to pot holes but these were no issues for my BMW 3 series.
Would 100% stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Medds Farm House and were able to take advantage of our wonderful location and the views from the house. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fibby
Hull U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect place with fabulous views.”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed over new year with family. Had a fabulous time. The farm house has everything you need. We just relaxed and enjoyed the views . Chrissy was there to welcome us, and had baked us bread which was yummy!! Had some lovely meals in the local pubs. Certainly would return for another stay. Thanks Chris for being the perfect host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: Bumpy track leading to property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to welcome you for your New Year stay. Yes, even in winter those views are still amazing! Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2016, have a fun and prosperous year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views and peace and quiet”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our first visit to Yorkshire.Medds Farm has stunning views all around,if you want to escape mobile phone signal and wifi it is a dream place to go.Very cosy comfortable house,beautiful garden.3 pubs to choose from in the village which is a lovely walk with or without dogs.An ideal base to explore Yorkshire and comes with a lovely host Chrissy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and views
Liked least: liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thanks for the very kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay. Medds Farm is certainly a peaceful holiday home and the views really are stunning but we do have free wifi, should you want to get in touch with the outside world whilst on your holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda K
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottage far from the madding crowd...perfect”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Picture perfect holiday cottage, beautifully renovated and pristine. Beds were comfortable with gorgeous views. Plenty of space and lovely private cottage garden to enjoy. Such a peaceful spot. It was amazing to eat our warm freshly cooked bread, pastries and coffee on the sunny terrace with bees humming and birdsong. Really set us up for the day.
Rosedale is not far away, lovely village with quaint shops and pubs. Fabulous walks to enjoy. A complete retreat, want to stay longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing garden and views. So peaceful.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you found everything to your liking and you enjoyed the comfy beds- we know how important sprung mattresses are! It was great that you made time to visit Rosedale Abbey, it really is a picturesque village and the walk to it across the river is beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This cottage provided our extended family with a lovely, throughly enjoyable holiday. We love our once-a-year family holiday together, so the choice of cottage is essential for its success. There was something to suit each of us, and the local golf course-hilly pitch and put crazy golf- was a big hit. I would have joined them if it wasn't for my illness, but as it was I found the little tea room-Graze OnThe Green -with the little side garden to sit in perfect for me, Paul and our granddaughter. The Blacksmith's Country Inn was amazing; the food outstanding so we are really glad we let the kids take us there for our anniversary evening meal while away. The steam train was perfect for all, and Whitby not too far away for a day out, especially as we somehow got perfect weather. We were going to have a BBQ the evening we got there no matter what so the weather was a bonus.
Thanks again for a wonderful few days and I will be recommending you to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout was perfect; especially the large dining room for eating and playing games
Liked least: The lane up to the cottage was a bit bumpy for the car suspensions!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you so much for your review, I am so pleased you had such a great holiday. Graze on the Green and the Blacksmith's are two of my favourite local eateries too so I will pass on your comments. And it's wonderful to hear that you all found something in Rosedale to suit your needs, there is certainly a huge variety of activities locally- even for the non walkers/cyclists! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1707mel
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with outstanding views”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a fab weekend with my children 6 & 8yrs, dog, grandparents and brother. There was plenty of space for all of us and the facilities were of a very good standard. The kitchen had everything you would need and the homemade bread was a lovely touch on arrival. The dog was only allowed downstairs but I understood this with it being the winter and muddy paws. The views from the cottage were beautiful and there was so much to do in the area even on a damp day. I would highly recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay. I am pleased you feel that the facilities are of a very good standard, we are proud of our contemporary bathrooms and kitchen so your comments are much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing